Candy Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2000
I couldn't keep my fingers out of it! yummy!!! And the scent filled up the house like a powerful votive candle. I made it for a prize at the cakewalk for my kids' school carnival, and it was a big hit! (I had a hard time giving it up, though!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2001
I liked this and served it with Cool Whip and my friends really enjoyed it. The only thing I felt it needed was more red hot's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
It tasted alright, but my roommate doesnt find it too appealing; he hasnt even touched the pie. It's not a horrible pie, but it was kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
What a heavenly smell while baking!!! I added extra candies and it was the best apple pie we've ever had. Will certainly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
Just so-so. I had to encourage my guests to try this because it's not the most appetizing looking pie Ive ever made. If I try it again, I would definately add more candies and food coloring to try and punch it up. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZBMOMOF3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I made this pie with a few variations: I almost trippled the red hot candies, and I added a strusel topping of brown sugar, flour and butter. I did not add food coloring, it didn't need it as the pie came out very pink colored with just the red hots. My only problem with this pie was that it seemed more like chunky apple sauce in a crust then a pie. But the red hots were an interesting twist on the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
My family loved this pie and I loved that because it had very little sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
this recipe is good. but i put my own twist to it which makes it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I love it!!! but I also put my own twist.. quadruple the red hots.. and added 3 atomic fireballs ( jawbreakers) as I love the apple cinnamon taste.. I remove from heat before the apples are tender because they have to sit to cool and will continue to soften, I, like the other reviewer don't want a mush pie. I'm sure you could also use the Lorans (tm) candy flavorings for the cinnamon flavor. I made mine a nice red with gel foodcoloring. This pie is AWESOME if I remember to take a pic I will submit it. I Serve it with whipped cream from the can.. TAS-TEE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesterfield Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I decided to make this recipe because I have never heard of it, and like to try new things. I made a few adjustments after reading what others said. I only used 1 cup of apple juice, eliminted the red dye,doubled the vanilla extract, and used half of a small bag of red hots. It turned out good. The cinammon flavor was right on, and it wasn't mushy at all. I sprinkled the top with a little powdered sugar and cinammon and a dallop of cool whip. You must love the taste of cinnamon to love this recipe. Overall it was good, but because my family isn't a huge fan of cinnamon, I will only be making it for myself next time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States