Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Recipe I use at Thanksgiving! 5 Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reandeau

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Loved it! Definitely add a generous sprinkling of cinnamon before you dot with butter! Also, mash them coarsely to leave some texture & like another reviewer said, so the marshmallows don't melt & dissappear. You may need to add extra marshmallows like i did about 5 minutes before removing from oven. Next time, I may use 1/4 C white sugar & 1/4 C brown sugar. All in all, a GREAT recipe for canned sweet potatoes! Very simple & short prep & cooking time! We will absolutely add this to our list of favorites to enjoy again & again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Simple and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
this was a great side for thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
We had a mini Thanksgiving dinner with friends, we were craving turkey and stuffing, and you have to have candied yams with that so I tried this and it turned out the best I've had. I used canned yams and cut into smaller pieces. Melted the butter and brown sugar then poured over the yams. Also cooked longer than recipe said and sauce got thick and gooey. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggie5576

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Not bad, but definitely too much butter as there was a lot of liquid at the bottom of the dish. I also peeled, cubed and steamed actual sweet potatoes (I use fresh ingredients as much as possible), used a bit less brown sugar and added some cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg. Next time, I'll only use about 1 tbsp of butter and maybe roast the sweet potatoes instead of steaming them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reynardine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
My family loved this recipe. I did use fresh yams. Boiled till tender the day before, skinned, cut up and placed in casserole. After reading others using cinnamon etc, I used some nutmeg and cinnamon - vey lite sprinkle of each along with 1/2 brown sugar called for and added some trivia (Hubby is watching blood sugar levels too) so left off marshmellows on 1/2 of casserole - got eaten all the same!. We will be using this recipe many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This recipe is great!Try adding 1/2 cup of pure maple syrup also. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Linden, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I drain the yams and mash them up with the butter first. Layer the ingredients in your casserole dish, but add a drained can of pineapples before the marshmallows. I prefer regular marshmallows also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I am not a fan of yams but I made these for a holiday party and I fell in love. I did however add a layer of cinnamon to the yams. These were a huge hit at my holiday party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States