Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Very good! Glad i read the reviews, drain the can leave no syrup\juice. So easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Price

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Made fresh yams in the microwave, cut into bite size peices Melted butter in med oven pan, 3/4 stick, put yams into pan, tossed, Sprinkles with cinnamon and brown sugar, poured @ 3/4 cup of Orange juice 2/3 bag of mini marshmallows.Baked and Was the best candied yams I have ever made, because, it wasn't over processed. You could taste the real yam and the other flavors with it. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
More like yammed candies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiara
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Easy and DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Family passed A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I tried this recipe with a change or two. I drained the yams and added honey on top of the butter and brown sugar to help the yams stick to the marshmallows a bit better. It worked like a charm. Once I pulled the yams out of the oven the marshmallows were all on top and fluffy with a nice golden/brown color to the tops of them. This recipe was a huge hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
These are very tasty! One important thing to note: don't use canned sweet potatoes IN SYRUP. Use the ones in their own juice. I used the ones in syrup and these were really, really sweet (even for me, who LOVES sweets!) I also sprinkled about 1/3 cup of pecans on top of the sweet potatoes before I topped them with marshmallows and baked them. Added a nice little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Same family recipe we use, but we add cinnamon, nutmeg, and crushed pineapple ---- love this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Add a pinch of cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg and you end up with a truly delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I started making this when my kids were little. Now I'm a Grandfather and I still get requests for it every year. I always have to double the recipe. The variation that I use is to drain the cans, reserving 1/2 cup of the juice. Then I add 1/2 cup spiced rum and 2 teaspoons of ground allspice (for a double recipe). Also I do not add the marshmallows until the last few minutes of cooking - just long enough for them to melt slightly and take on some color. To make sure all the pieces are completely coated, I'll stir them a couple of times while baking, the last time being just before I add the marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States