Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Add a pinch of cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg and you end up with a truly delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I started making this when my kids were little. Now I'm a Grandfather and I still get requests for it every year. I always have to double the recipe. The variation that I use is to drain the cans, reserving 1/2 cup of the juice. Then I add 1/2 cup spiced rum and 2 teaspoons of ground allspice (for a double recipe). Also I do not add the marshmallows until the last few minutes of cooking - just long enough for them to melt slightly and take on some color. To make sure all the pieces are completely coated, I'll stir them a couple of times while baking, the last time being just before I add the marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I have made this recipe before, and this year I will be adding a can of apples with caramel to the sweet potatoes before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Drain the yam juice. Using the cinnamon, a pinch of nutmeg,a pinch of salt, the brown sugar, butter and a cup of orange juice, Bring to a boil then add the yams to this mixture and continue to cook just below a boil for just about 4 minutes to just thicken this a little and soften the yams. Then pour this all into a casserole and let cook for about 25 - 30 minutes, until bubbly. THEN put the mini marshmallows all over the top and put back into oven for a few minutes to soften the marshmallows. If you want to turn on the broiler to toast the tops of the marshmallows,BUT DO NOT WALK AWAY... just to put a slight toasty look to the marshmallows, which should still retain their shape. The orange gives an extra kick to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I make it with fresh yams, peeled, chopped, topped with butter and brown sugar then microwaved until yams are tender. I top with full sized Jet Puffed marshmallows--as many as I can stuff on top of the yams and just before serving I place under the broiler and toast the marshmallows so they get very brown and toasty on the outside and soft and gooey on the inside...tastes exactly like campfire marshmallows. Our kids all love these yams...it's the only dish at the holidays with no leftovers. One year I even went a bit too far and the marshmallows caught fire...blew it out and served them and everyone went nuts and wanted me to start doing them that way from now on. I don't though, because I'm afraid it's carcinogenic. Great way to cook yams!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I love this recipe and never thought of cinnamon. Nice addition. One thing I do just because I like to use some of the juice (heated) is thicken it with a mix of cold water/cornstarch and pour over the sweet potatoes. Then I add the butter, brown sugar and a few marshmellows. When it's about done, then I add more MINIATURE (lol) m'mellows to brown and hold their shape better. Hope this is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Oak, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I've made this for years, always used drained canned yams mashed up, then add the sugar and cinnamon - give it a stir and add pineapple chunks to it. I microwave the potatoes so they are hot, then put them in the oven with the marshmellows on top because otherwise, the marshmellows get overcooked and brown too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
My mother aLSO ADDED PINEAPPLE CHUNKS AND WALNUTS MAKES IT GREAT AND ADDS SOME CRUNCH BEE. EATING AND MAKING THIS FOR 60 YEARS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I followed the directions, but the marshmallows melt at the end of 25 minutes. It would be better to state in the recipe to put the marshmallows on the last 10 minutes, so they do not burn or melt away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was the most simple yet delicious recipe ever. After reading previous reviews, I too drained the juice from the canned yams and also added cinnamon. All I can say is delicious! These yams complimented my easter dinner with ease. Everyone love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States