Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Fantastic! Just like Mom and Grandma make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKELHOSS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I make these every Thanksgiving and Xmas. These are a huge hit in my large family. I use Bruces canned yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I always use fresh potatos boiled, then mashed with a fork. "I cant believe its not Butter" has a great FAT-FREE butter. I also add Cinnamon and Nutmeg. I alwayz mix a little marshmallows in with the potato mixture for extra "marshmallow surprises" =] This dish turned out awesome!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by cakenbake
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Very yummy! Everyone in my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakenbake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Great recipe. I have altered this recipe a bit. I do not use canned yams. I buy about 5 to 6 medium to large yams. I cook the yams then peel the skins off. I then let the yams cool. I peel the skins off and then mash the yams with a hand mixer until it looks like a paste. I use a 9x13 pan to put the mashed yams in. I cut up pieces of butter and put them on top of the mashed yams. I then sprinkle brown sugar all over (amount will very depending on the sweetness level). I then put an entire bag of small marshmallows on top. Cover the 9x13 pan with foil. I cooked the the yams at 400 degrees for 25 minutes (what it said in the recipe). I then uncover the yams to have the marshmallows turn golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was great with a few suggestion from other reviewers. Added Cinnamon, nutmeg, and a little vanilla extract, minus the marshmallows. I also dried the sweet potatoes at 200 degrees for 30min prior to mixing the ingredients. I made enough to feed 40 3rd grade kids! They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grace80

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Delicious! This was an awesome, fast side dish. I did follow a previous poster's tips-I drained the sweet potatoes, coarsely mashed them, sprinkled them with cinnamon and baked them without the foil at the end to brown the marshmallows. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I drained the yams, yet it still came out runny. It tasted fine, but I didn't care for how it looked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I made these for Thanksgiving 2008 and really enjoyed them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I have no idea what I did wrong but the yams did not turn out as I expected. I was told to go back to the drawing board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States