Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
First thing is you must drain the yams or else they will come out to wet. Although I drained the yams there were still a few problems with them. I try adding cinnamon for flavor so that made them better however I found that there was way to much butter for such a small amount of yams and then I also found them way to sweet. I would suggest cutting back on both the butter and brown sugar and then also waiting to add the marshmallows because mine just melted right into the dish and when it came out it looked ugly. After baking the dish I added more marshmallows and let it sit for a few minutes on the counter until they melted. I dont think I will try this dish again because I was simply put off by it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was so tasty that my husband, not a big fan of yams, loved it! I followed a suggestion and sprinkled a little cinnamon on the drained and mashed yams and then I mixed the brown sugar and butter bits in with the yams. I didn't have an oven available to cook this at 400, so I put it in the 350 oven for about 35 minutes (the marshmallows just turned golden). Fantastic and easy! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
cut back on the butter - too much butter but was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mypini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle Lake, Florida, USA
Living In: Phelan, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This was an excellent recipe, I myself am not fond of sweet potatoes but............ I did tweek a bit although I'm sure it would have been just fine as is. I baked the sweet potatoes til they were just getting soft. Then peeled and sliced them about 1 in. thick. Put in casserole dish. I boiled the butter and brown sugar and added 2 Tbls. of real maple syrup. Poured over sweet potatoes and topped with marshmallows and baked. This is definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrontierCook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
These were delicious. I followed others advice by draining the yams, coarsely mashing them and sprinkling cinnamon. I think they could have less sugar and still be very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This has to be one of the easiest ways to make Candied Yams. Excellent. I use canned yams, drain, and use a potato masher to refine the yams. I had an aunt tell me that, when you are in a rush, the next best thing to brown sugar is pancake syrup. Maple is the best. squeeze a little through after patting in butter and top with small marshmallows. Excellent! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This is a simple and easy recipe but it may be just what you are looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GANGWISH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This meal is a wonderful part of Thanksgiving dinner. We follow the directions completely and it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bagx8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
All of our Thanksgiving plans fell through and this was a life saver for a quick and easy addition to out last minute Thanksgiving dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary k

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This recipe gets three starts because it is a great starter recipe, but it is a bit plain. Also, if you have a lot of people to feed, one 29 ounce can of sweet potatoes is not even close to enough. To save the dish, I had to run out and buy sweet potatoes and boil them separately to bulk up the proportions. To spice everything up a bit more, I also added a couple granny smith apples to mitigate the intense sweetness, some walnuts (or pecans), and a little orange zest to brighten it up. Overall, a solid recipe except for the proportions, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States