Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I doubled the recipe and sprinkled in a little bit of cinnamon. Perfect! Thanks for sharing !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Alaena39
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This is a good basic recipe, but some things can be done to take it over the top. First, it definitely needs cinnamon! I sprinkled some over top the marshmallows (about 1/2 a tsp as I doubled the recipe). I also just simmered the butter and sugar and then poured over top the yams for a more even covering. Last, I included a bit of the canned syrup, for extra yam flavor and everyone liked it. I didn't use all of it because then I'd have yam soup! Also, knowing from experience, I know that mini marshmallows can melt too easily so large marshmallows are the way to go in my opinion. Someone mentioned putting in some vanilla extract...that sounds really good and I might just try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I added a layer of a thinly sliced apple in between the yams that I sliced to bite size pieces. I am suprised that my guests didn't lick the bowl. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
These were great! I did add more butter and brown sugar to make more sauce. I also added a little bit of cinnamon. It was my first time making candied yams and my husband and guests said they were the best they had ever had. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I fixed these for some skeptics who pride themselves on their Candied Yams. They asked me for the recipe. I did slice them into bite-size pieces and then drained them until dry. I mixed brown sugar with a dash of cinnamon, nutmeg and ground cloves then sprinkled them over the 1st layer of yams, then followed w/ small butter slices. I then repeated the process for another layer. Baked it in a covered nonstick sprayed pan for 20 min, then added the marshmallows and baked uncovered until they were golden. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
THE ONLY THING THAT I CHANGED ON THE RECIPE/DIRECTIONS WAS THAT I DRAINED, MASHED, AND MIXED THE SWEET POTATOES WITH THE BROWN SUGAR FIRST AS RECOMMENDED BY ANOTHER REVIEWER AND........IT WAS TOO SWEET, TOO MUCH BUTTER AND THE MARSHMALLOWS MELTED RIGHT IN TO THE SWEET POTATOES. NEXT TIME I AM DEF. GOING TO USE CINNAMON PLUS HALF THE AMOUNT OF BUTTER THAT THE RECIPE CALLED FOR AND LESS SUGAR! AS FOR THE MARSHMALLOWS HOW DO YOU GET THEM TO BROWN AND NOT MELT??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKKIGOLD

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Excellent Recipe. I usually make fresh candied yams, but these were great!! I might try with fresh yams as the base next year, but this is really fast and easy... plus, tastes great!! The only thing I did differently was forget to cover the dish when cooking. It still turned out great, but was done in 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Very good. I followed the ingredients and cooking time but mashed the potatoes a bit with a fork, sprinkled with a little bit of cinnamon, covered with the cut up butter and brown sugar then mixed it all together. Topped with marshmellows and baked. Everyone liked it but the grandkids REALLY gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katieo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Oh so very good! I baked mine at 350* for an hour. I used a smaller can of potatoes though as I am the only one who really likes them here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
So easy and so good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 151-160 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States