Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
These were so good! I added cinnamon and it was gobbled up before dinner was over. Even the kids who couldn't believe it was made with sweet potatoes loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tumwater, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Great recipe! I added cinnamon as well and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Awesome every time! I cut the butter into pieces and mix it in along with the brown sugar and the cinnamon. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This Recipe is always a hit! I have always said I dont like candied Yams but when I made this recipe and tried it I couldnt get enough. The first time I made it I did add the cinnamon and a little nutmeg and I have made it the same way ever since. Everyone raves about the yams when I make them this way. Just be sure to drain the yams and i always cook them with marshmallows at first then add more marshmallows about half way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandyjo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fostoria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Good base recipe. Adding another can of yams keeps this recipe from tasting too rich...Drained then heated two 29oz cans Bruce yams in pot, mashed coarsely...In small saucepan I melted 1/4c butter & 1/2c sugar together then stirred mixture in w yams b4 smoothing it all into 8x8 pan...Per others' suggestions, I dusted w cinnamon; sprinkled w pecans; topped GENEROUSLY w marshmallows; covered w Spam-sprayed foil...Baked for 15mins, removed foil, watched marshmallows brown quickly...RESULTS: Beautiful presentation, good flavor, not runny at all. My son liked the hint of cinnamon but we'll leave out pecans next time (it just didn't compliment the creamy texture of the dish)...Next batch I'll also keep the yams whole. This was the first time I've ever mashed yams & I have to say I prefer them whole, mashed reminds me too much of babyfood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Good recipe---I suggest adding Honey, cinnamon, vanilla extract, and a small amt of nutmeg for great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
this is a great recipe but i just changed it a bit. i used a 1/3 cup of butter mashed the yams first and put in the oven 40 min. at 350 works alot better. i feel that 400 at 25 min. cooks way too fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Bake fresh yams in foil or Roast in oil to retain sweetness and flavor! boiling makes them bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Always use fresh yams or sweet potatoes (boiled until soft), I also add orange juice (not too much) and cinnamon with all other ingredients. The orange juice gives it a really nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Trumansburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Part of my old North Carolina rooted recipe inclues a pinch of cinnamon, nutmeg, 1 small box of raisin, 1/2 cup clear Keyro syrup and 1/3rd cup pecan pieces. Never and drop left. GOOOOOOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Melling Sr.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States