Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
this was a great side for thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
We had a mini Thanksgiving dinner with friends, we were craving turkey and stuffing, and you have to have candied yams with that so I tried this and it turned out the best I've had. I used canned yams and cut into smaller pieces. Melted the butter and brown sugar then poured over the yams. Also cooked longer than recipe said and sauce got thick and gooey. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggie5576

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Not bad, but definitely too much butter as there was a lot of liquid at the bottom of the dish. I also peeled, cubed and steamed actual sweet potatoes (I use fresh ingredients as much as possible), used a bit less brown sugar and added some cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg. Next time, I'll only use about 1 tbsp of butter and maybe roast the sweet potatoes instead of steaming them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reynardine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
My family loved this recipe. I did use fresh yams. Boiled till tender the day before, skinned, cut up and placed in casserole. After reading others using cinnamon etc, I used some nutmeg and cinnamon - vey lite sprinkle of each along with 1/2 brown sugar called for and added some trivia (Hubby is watching blood sugar levels too) so left off marshmellows on 1/2 of casserole - got eaten all the same!. We will be using this recipe many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This recipe is great!Try adding 1/2 cup of pure maple syrup also. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Linden, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I drain the yams and mash them up with the butter first. Layer the ingredients in your casserole dish, but add a drained can of pineapples before the marshmallows. I prefer regular marshmallows also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I am not a fan of yams but I made these for a holiday party and I fell in love. I did however add a layer of cinnamon to the yams. These were a huge hit at my holiday party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Everyone love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
First time making yams this was nice and simple, they came out great and my family loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Quick and simple that reminded my of childhood. I baked the potatoes in the oven first just because I prefer fresh potatoes and it is easier to remove jackets without waste. Also, I sprinkled allspice over the potatoes--not because anything was lacking in the recipe--but because that was what I remembered from childhood--the spiciness of the potatoes. This recipe should always be a hit. It's almost impossible to mess this one up! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States