Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This came out delicious! Make sure you drain the yams. This is the trick to not melting all of the marshmallows. I also added cinnamon as others suggested and started baking the yams with half of the marshmallows. when there were 5 minutes left I added the rest of the marshmallows and when I say these yams were good…I mean they tasted heavenly. The marshmallows were nice and toasted. This dish did not last long in my household. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Best Thanksgiving side dish ever. The cinnamon really puts it over the top. A real taste treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Friberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Instructions poorly written...make sure to drain the sweet potatoes of all syrup or you'll have sweet potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I have never made this before and was amazed at how easy it was. I took the advise of others and added the cinnamon and vanilla extract and WOW.... I was a hit. Absolutely Delicious!!!! Thank You!!!! I can't wait to make it again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by analolacheeks23
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
It was simple and tasted fantastic! Next time, I may add a few breadcrumbs for a 'pasty' finish rather than 'liquid'. :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefKitchen
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made this for Thanksgiving and my husband really enjoyed this and asked me to make it again. I did cook my fresh yams for 15 minutes on the stove before baking them in the oven with butter, brown sugar, and marshmalllows. I added cinnamon and nutmeg to this recipe and cooked for an additional 20 minutes for ultimate tenderness. My marhmallows melted too quickly while cooking so I just added more to the mixture in the last 20 minutes of baking. Overall I think its a good recipe I would reccomend it to family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This was just ok. You could have use 1/8 of a cup of sugar and it would still be too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I absolutely loved this recipe! Thank you so much :) I did make a few changes. I added cinnamon and Nutmeg and instead of the 29 ounce of Yams I used the 40 oz Can of bruces yams. Thanks again this dish was a big hit for my mom who has never liked sweet potatoes or Yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Schreiner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vanessa Del Sol
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is the best recipe! I added my own twist to it. I drained the yams and mashed them a bit. I also mixed the brown sugar into it and then I sprinkled cinnamon all over. I also crumbled graham crackers and sprinkled it all over to give it a bit of crunchiness. I added the cut up pieces of butter and marshmallows. Voila! Thank goodness I have enough ingredients to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Del Sol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan Smith
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Wonderful recipe. Just like my granny used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States