Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
These are to die for! I make these sweet potatoes every holiday we get! :) Make sure you boil the sweet potatoes until just a tad bit under done. That way when you cook them in the butter and brown sugar, they'll cook the rest of the way there and not break up and turn to mush. edited to add...you need to add another 3/4 cup brown sugar to make the sauce not runny. I also cut the orange juice a tad too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nataliamomof3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
These were yummy! I used 3 large sweet potatoes and instead of baking for boiling them, I microwaved them until finished and then peeled the skin off and cubed them. I also added a cinnamon spice mix to give it some flavor while cooking...I think that made them even better! My husband loved them! I had it as a side dish to "awesome honey pecan prok chops". SO YUMMY! O
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I liked the potatoes, and do agree that they are not overly sweet, but I thought it was difficult to get the potatoes to the right consistency. My advice: leave them slightly firm before adding them to the sauce. After cooking for 20 more minutes, mine were too soft and mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORtrillium

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
YUM! These turned out great! (Even better than my mom's.) I used canned sweet potatoes/yams. I turned the heat to high the last few minutes to carmelize them. I also added a tad more brown sugar to thicken. They were wonderful and I will make them every year for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
These candied sweet potatoes turned out pretty good! It wasn't the easiest recipe because it did not specify how "large" the sweet potatoes had to be, so I eye-balled it since I bought JUMBO sweet potatoes. RESERVE A GOOD AMOUNT OF TIME for this recipe....the sweet potatoes have to boil (or cook depending on which way you do this recipe), the butter, brown sugar, and O.J. have to mix thoroughly. And then the "Candied" process begins...which takes around 20-25 minutes of attention, sturring, and a careful eye. All in all, I like this recipe, I wouldn't give it 5 stars for preparation, probably 4. But 5 out of 5 stars for taste. My family enjoyed it! Happy Holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I made these yesterday, and I had to eye ball everything because I had to make a Big pan full of them. I cheated and bought the canned yams and drained them. I put the yams in one of those turkey cooking trays and filled it up. I then turned the oven on to 375 and cooked the yams for 25mins while I got the sauce ready. I again had to double up on the sauce, but I used everything. I added just a little spoon full of cornstarch to thinken up the sauce. Once missed well I took out the yams and poured the sauce on them. I covered it with foil and put in back in to cook for about 15 mins, then pulled it out and put little marshmellows on top and put them back in the oven to melt. My husband brought these to work for a pot luck and everyone loved them. It was all gone real fast. *PS* Dont forget to put foil over the yams while they are cooking without the marshmellows on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Decided at the last minute Thanksgiving to make this recipe. Didn't have OJ on hand, so I substituted pineapple juice. Added a drizzle of vanilla, and sprinkles of cinnamon and nutmeg. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I loved this recipe and so did everyone else. It is a bit on the sweet side. What I loved about it was it wasn't liquidy. I ususually get a seperate bowl for my sweet potatoes b/c their juicy, but with these I just put them on my plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This is the best recipe for Sweet Poatoes I've ever had. Absolutely divine, loved the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meesakelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emerald Isle, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This was a nice change. I boiled the potatoes and stuck them in the fridge to cool. Then several hours later removed the skins, and cooked them accordingly. I think this helped them from becoming too mushy, which inevitably happens towards the end. I didn't adjust anything but did add cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States