Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
These were fantastic! I did however make a few minor changes that I believe made them even better: I used less butter and brown sugar, but added a couple of tablespoons of apricot jam. Can you say yum?! Also, after the marshmallows were melted into the butter, brown sugar & jam, I added a small splash of fresh orange juice. I used bagged sweet potatoes from Trader Joes that were already peeled and cut into chunks--they seemed a little overdone, so next time I will boil for about half that time. All in all, this is one for the ages. I will be pulling this out every year for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I'm cooking it Right now as I write this.It does look like there is to much better.So what I did I pourd some of the juice out then cooked it in the oven.They said to boil for 15 mins then smach some of them and keep some in pieces but it's not easy to brakethem up.So I'm cooking mine and taken them out here and there and smuching them.So I hope this works out.Or Im scerwed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I made this dish two years ago as my contribution to Thanksgiving Dinner. By the time I made my plate, they were almost gone. Since I will be cooking our feast this year, I just frantically hunted down this recipe because it is sheer perfection! Everyone loved this dish and complimented me that year, and I had to agree--it was love at first bite. The only candied sweet potato recipe I will ever use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is the only yam recipe I'll ever make. I've been making this recipe for over 10 years, and everybody in the family loves it. Wherever I take it, I get requests for the recipe. I've shared it with neighbors, and they ask me to make it the next year. It's absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I absolutely love this recipe! Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hsrudy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I made this last year for Thanksgiving and it was a great success. I will be making it again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I used 6 lbs of potatoes and still would reduce the butter next time to 1 cup. I did reduce the brown sugar to 1 cup as well, and it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
My family LOVES this recipe! We like to bake cornbread, place in a bowl and then pour the sweet potatoes over that. YUM! Thank you for this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
So good. Only change I made was using 1 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup amaretto. Delicious. I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Jamaica, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I've used this recipe for the past 3 years. It's a "must have" at my families Thanksgiving and Christmas tables. I love the video you've added! Thanks Dj for sharing, Happy Holidays. Barbara Castle Rock, WA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States