Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I used 3-17oz. cans of sweet potatoes, reduced the butter to 1C. and reduced the brown sugar to 3/4 C. It couldn't have been easier and the family devoured it. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
647 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This was quick and easy and good. I chop the sweet potatoes (with the skin still on) into 2" thick circles, and then cut the circles in half, before boiling them in an enormous stockpot-- this makes the boiling time really fast. After they are boiled, the skin practically falls off, which saves you the effort of peeling them beforehand. Based on the reviews, I reduced the butter and sugar all the way down to 1/4 cup margarine and 1/2 cup brown sugar. The Thanksgiving guests said it was perfect that way, but no one had a super sweet tooth. Personally, I will try 1/2 cup margarine and maybe 3/4 cup sugar next time as I felt the reduced version was too healthy and not decadent enough. :) Although chunks are good, the potatoes should still be mashed a little bit while you stir them into the sauce. If you have too big chunks the butter/sugar will not penetrate the center of the chunk. Did anyone notice that this recipe is very similar to making rice krispie treats-- except you don't add sugar when making rice krispie treats? ***Update*** I've made this every year for Thanksgiving, and it is always a hit. Definitely go with 1/2 cup salted butter (NOT margarine!) and 3/4 cup brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
576 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
These tasted great but the recipe called for WAY too much butter. I had to drain it all out before I could even eat it. I will definitely make this again but I will cut the butter in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
Excruciatingly sweet!!! I reduced the margarine (used butter) and brown sugar to 1 cup each per previous comments, but I think I'll reduce the brown sugar even more to 3/4 cup. Delicious otherwise. I didn't mash the potatoes or break them into bite-size bits, nor did I top them with remaining marshmallows because I wanted a true southern-style candied yam dish, not a sweet potato casserole type dish. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I took many of the reviews and adapted this recipe for a recent potluck. My co-workers loved this, even people who never before liked yams were asking for the recipe. Even though I reduced much of the brown sugar, this was very sweet. Here is how I modified the recipe. ..... 4 pounds of yams, 1/4 cup of butter (salted), 1/2 cup brown sugar, 3 cups of miniature marshmallows, divided, 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp nutmeg. ..... Many people claim baked potatoes provide the best taste and texture. So, I baked the cleaned yams for 45 minutes in a 350 F degree oven. After removing the yams and letting them cool, I peeled the yams, and mashed them. Then I folded the marshmallow/sugar mixture into the yams. Once mixed, I placed the mix in a baking dish, let them bake for approx 30 minutes at 350F degrees. After 30 minutes, I placed the mini marshmallows on top of the dish and let bake another 5 minutes. Just long enough for the marshmallows to puff and get a touch golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cool, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
I thought this was a great recipe. The only complaint I had was the amount of butter. Next time I'll try to cut it down a bit. They were yummy anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIK_IT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
Best recipe for candied sweet potatoes I have ever tried. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
Oh so yummy!!!!!!!!...I LOVE a sweet version of candied yams and this was PERFECT!!!!...i've been looking for a recipe that put a nice dark glaze on the yams that tasted like a desert instead of a side dish for dinner....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERKATIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This is an excellent recipe! Didn't cut back on anything - I like them sweet and marshmallowy. I was tempted to add more liquid, but DON'T - the sauce gets thinner as it bakes! I used canned, drained sweet potatoes (6 lb GFS commercial size can 40-50 pieces), doubled the sauce, baked in lazagna pan) OH SOOOO GOOD! THANKS Dj!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Marys, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
Really good and easy. Make sure to allow time to boil potatoes and cool them a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States