Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
The best I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
looks good! Wont be trying it until tomorrow, but I've already poured most of a cup of butter off the top. Update: Everyone loved it. It is bloody awful for you, but really good. I stirred the mashed sweet potatoes into the marshmallow sauce for about half an hour until it was smooth and condensed down, than poured it over 1 inch slices of boiled sweet potato in a 9x11 glass pan. baked as recommended. The marshmellows on the top mostly just dissipated into the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I have been making these candied sweet potatoes since 1982. I only use 1/4 cup of butter and only 1 Tbs. Of brown sugar. I sometimes add crushed pineapple. The broiler is faster to brown the marshmallows. My Thanksgiving and Christmas wouldn't be the same without these potatoes:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I don't care for sweet potatoes and was terrified when I was asked to make "my mom's" dish last year. There is no recipe and my mom passed away, so I tried this and everybody said it tasted just as they expected! Nothing was left and I was told I had to bring it again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
With a couple of small changes, this is a 5 star recipe. I sent this with my husband for a Thanksgiving meal at work and everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe! I did go with 1/2 C butter and 3/4 C brown sugar. Also, seasoning-wise I used 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp ginger, and 1/8 tsp ground cloves. Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Great Starting point for a Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe. Simply Yummy. Entire family loved this. I made this in anticipation of getting Thanksgiving Dinner Menu together, wanted a variation to the normal that I do. I found it. I only gave it 4 stars because I added toasted nuts to it as a splash of vanilla. For best results (Ive made it twice now) make sure the sauce is completely melted and blended together... But YES this is a GREAT YUMMY Recipe. I will make this ALOT more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
sooo greasy and sloppy. I tried it because of the rating, but do not suggest it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
These sweet potatoes are very sweet indeed! Great for a desert or a sweet side dish! I used less butter, replacing the margarine with unsalted butter, and it came out just fine. I made these for my boyfriend and he really loved them, so did I. I plan on making these potatoes again as a desert since they were so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
These were delicious! Something sweet with our Thanksgiving turkey. Even my husband and 1 year son liked them. Cant wait to find an excuse to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Very good, used large can sweet potatoes and 2/3 of butter and brown sugar - next time use less butter and sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 477) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States