Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
My family was in heaven. There was only one little dish left and my mom immediately claimed it. She said it was just like the sweet potatoes she has as a young girl. I cut back on the butter and brown sugar, but I think I'll leave the recipe as is next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving as I lost my original recipe. This one blew my old recipe away. A little too much butter but it didn't ruin it. Every person in my family thought it was great and asked for seconds. Very sweet, almost a dessert category - might want to cut down on sugars and butter, I know I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Made this Thanksgiving 2013. It was fantastic!! Everyone loved it! I peeled the sweet potatoes first before boiling them. Other than that, no changes. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Mad it for thanksgiving I have been trying to perfect it for years this recipe did it absolutely perfect I did use way more potatoes and marshmallows but perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kix Peace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I just Cooked this for thanksgiving big hit with my husband will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Wolfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plattsburg, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nevada, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Way too sweet & buttery as written. Decrease the Brown sugar to 3/4 C (my husband even thought that was too sweet) & butter to 1/2 C. I used 1/8t nutmeg & 1/4t cinnamon& added 1 t vanilla. Overall a good recipe w/ changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Burke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I didn't make enough! I couldn't keep up with the demand at the Thanksgiving table. This was a great fun dish to make. Definitely cut the butter and brown sugar in half. I did, and it was still sweet. You could probably cut back even more than half. I will probably try that next time. Save the calories but still have a deliciously sweet dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I used a 30 oz can of sweet potatoes, cut the butter a little, threw in some mini marshmallows & followed the rest of the directions. It seems foolproof. Turned out delicious & loved by all. Easiest Candied Sweet Potatoes ever!!! Served 4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Morrison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Let me first say that I like my sweet potatoes sweet, so I loved this recipe. Like others, I cut used half the amount of butter and brown sugar and it had plenty of sweetness. I will make this recipe again. I put these in the oven with another dish that was at 365 degrees and it worked out just fine. After I took out the main dish, I brought the temp back down and popped the potatoes back in the oven after covering with marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I don't know where the "candied" part comes in because these were more like sweet potatoes in brown sugar sryup. They were not candied at all. I will try baking the raw potatoes in the brown sugar mix and see if they will thicken up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo

Displaying results 51-60 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States