Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jenna T
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
One of the easiest and most tasty dishes I've ever made. Just like mammas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
First time that I ever cooked yams from scratch and the were a hit. Reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup and the butter to 1/2 cup and kept everything else the same. I may not go back to canned again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jowana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Classic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FreshPrincessDi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I really liked the flavor and consistency of this sweet potato dish, but it need 2 drastic changes to make it palatable. I used only 1 stick of butter (as opposed to 2.5 sticks) and no sugar at all. That's right, I completely left out the sugar as the melted marshmallows sweeten the sweet potatoes enough! Next time, I will add chopped pecans on top:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
The best candied sweet potatoes ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I don't cook with sweet potatoes often, so I accidentally peeled them BEFORE boiling them - not sure if that makes a difference in taste, but I'm aware it probably took me a little extra time. I cut the recipe down to 1/3 the original (to serve 4 - there's only two of us to feed!) and it was the perfect amount with some leftovers. I followed everyone's advice and toned the butter down a little bit. I used a ceramic baking dish similar to a LeCreuset for the oven bit. This dish came out super delicious and sweet and yummy! Would make again and keep this recipe in the rotation (with the notes to go easy on the butter!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was perfect. This was my first time cooking Christmas dinner for my boyfriend and I. I followed the directions exactly (over boiled the potatoes just a tad). Also I couldn't find my nutmeg so I used a dash of All Spice and it was great. Thanks a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is the BEST sweet potato recipe ever! I had been searching for a sweet potato "keeper" for a few years. Found this one, made it for Thanksgiving and the family begged for it for Christmas again! I have a feeling it will be an ongoing request. Super easy to make. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Perfect. I used the Splenda Brown Sugar Blend, which uses 1/2 the amount of brown sugar. So I reduced the butter/margarine to 1 Cup like others have done. This made it easier to use the Splenda equivalent of 1 Cup of brown sugar. Everything else was exactly as the recipe said and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by barbie3
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Best recipe I have tried, I added crushed pecans gave it a crunchy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States