Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I don't care for sweet potatos but my guests do so I prepared this recipe. Everyone has loved it and has requested it the following year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
Very good!! Will definitely use again. I sprinkled a little cinnamon on top as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CareyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
This recipe was a hit with my family on Thanksgiving. I was searching for a candied yam/sweet potato recipe w/o the marshmellows and easy to make. This one fit the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
This is a delicous and easy recipe for sweet potatoes. The sauce has a wonderful unique blend of flavors from the butter, brown sugar, and orange juice. My mother is a southern lady who is now in her eighties. She had me prepare this for Thanksgiving dinner. She loved them! I would highly recommend this scrumption and EASY way of cooking sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith Harden

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
This is almost the same as the one I make every year except I add about 1/4 teas of cinnamon and precook the sweet potatoes then slice and put in the candied sauce. I have made the day before and then put the in the oven to heat while making the gravey. Have been asked many times to bring these to pot lucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Yummy. I sprinkled over some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This is an easy and great tasting receipe. I changed it a little; I used maple syrup instead of brown sugar. I also cut the sweet potatoes in chunks raw, placed them in a buttered covered casserole dish and pour the sauce mixture over them, put them in a 375 degree oven for approx. an hour until the potatoes were done. Less time in the kitchen and less cleanup. Will use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
352 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
This recipe is great~ I made a few changes to it. I used yams instead of sweet potatoes. The color and the taste of the dish turned out better with yams~ I didn't add the orange juice to it also, so that it can caramelized~ It tasted just as good without the orange juice! I will make this dish again, but next time, I'll add less butter to it~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
These were great! My family does not like the sweet potatoes with marshmallows and even those who do not like sweet potatoes in general (I am one) loved this recipe. I have made this for three family holidays and it has become a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
Not at all as expected and the preparation is a bit much for a cooking holiday that is over-taxed to begin with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OFENJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States