Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Followed this exactly as it was written and it was delicious. My father, who is very finicky, declared this as the best sweet potatoes ever. Even I enjoyed them and I HATE sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Used maple syrup instead of brown sugar. Baked in oven at 375 for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This is an excellent recipe. I was looking for a recipe my biological family use to make when I was a child. This was so close & so yummy. I added some large marshmellows on top & it was perfect, not to sweet. I never would of thought to add the orange juice, great ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This is sooooo good and easy. We make this recipe all the time. My wife only wants sweet potatoes made this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This was the first time I made sweet potatoes. I microwaved them like some of the other reviewers instead of the oven. (turkey was taking up the oven) I never liked sweet potatoes but these were pretty good. I will make again. Not overly sweet- perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by artgrrl
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
omitted the orange juice. so simple and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artgrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I tried this recipe for Thanksgiving, and my family widely agreed the it was less sweet and "more like a vegetable" than our usual fare. This, in spite of the fact, that I covered the sweet potatoes with candied pecans. However, this was universally viewed as a good thing, as you could taste the potatoes and their orange juice compliment, instead of just getting a mouthful of sugar and marshmallow. I will definitely make this again, and I look forward to experimenting with some of the advice other reviewers have offered such as substituting maple syrup for the brown sugar, and adding bits (1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon) of cinnamon and nutmeg with the melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Really enjoyed this recipe. I am not a fan of the marshmallow version of sweet potatoes, and really like them baked with butter, so the addition of the orange juice was a nice variation. As all cooks will do I did tweek it a bit. I added a little fresh grated nutmeg, some cinnamon and just a pinch of cayenne pepper. Also as previous reviewers did, I made the sauce and pour it over the sliced raw potatoes, then baked them in a 350 degree oven for about an hour (basting every 15-20 min). What I like most about these is you don’t have to make them Thanksgiving day, you can make them a couple of days ahead of time, keep covered in the refrigerator and reheat them for 15-20 minutes just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
So easy and so delicious. I baked some of the potatoes (then removed the skin) and boiled some. I think next time I'll boil all. Boiling was easier (I left the skin on)and they tasted just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
These came out different than I expected - the sweet potatoes became a bit of mush, rather than staying in chunks, but the flavor was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States