Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
My grandma-in-law demands these every Thanksgiving since I found the recipe. Why buy canned when they can be this good this easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVPLAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Polson, Montana, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
The family really enjoyed this recipe. I cut the orange juice down as suggested by some others. I also found that there was a lot of sauce. I would cut the butter in half next time--could probably cut some of the sugar without losing flavor too. However, it was really yummy and I will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Oh my goodness!!! These were the absolute best sweet potatoes ever in the whole wide world!!! The kids loved them, I loved them, my husband loved them and I brought the left overs to work and my co workers loved them!!! Awesome! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Terrell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
AMAZING! Will be a staple in our home for years to come. I only used a splash of OJ and I added a squirt of syrup while the brown sugar was heating up. Would have been perfect with the said recipe but we like it extra sweet =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey_1006

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This was a very good recipe. I added just a little bit more brown sugar and butter and simmered it for a while, until the rest of the food was all ready. At the end I mashed it all up and it was deeeelicouse! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Very good. Great with a Southern meal with greens and fried chicken. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennieH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Pretty good, I think I will use less orange juice next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Like others, I didn't precook the potatoes. Just put them in a dish, poured the sauce over and baked for an hour or so. Also added cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice, as well as pecans to the top. Came out exactly as I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
These are great. I will make them agin. I have made these a few times now and everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was a hit with our Christmas Dinner. Those who love sweet potatoes -- LOVED IT! I used fresh sweet potatoes - not canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States