Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Awesome recipes! I added a little cin, nutmeg, and vanilla. I enjoyed every bite. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEA303

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Fantastic recipe - these were a big hit at Thanksgiving this year. Even my boyfriend, who usually doesn't like sweet potatoes, went back for seconds. I followed the advice of several posters here and reduced the orange juice to half of what the recipe recommended. It was still pretty powerful - I'd suggest either reducing the amount to 1/4 (see how you like it), or even eliminating it from the recipe all together. Anyhoo, great dish - will definitely be making this again. Super easy to prepare and re-heated really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made this, it was totally awesome,I did have to add some thickening, (cornstarch),And found that to thicken the sauce taking the potatoes out made a big difference... The tang of the orange juice (which I had never used before) mellowed out the sweetness. Totally loved by all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Made these for our holiday dinner we threw the other night...not very good in my opinion or any of my 30 guests either. Gonna stick with the brown sugar and marshmallow method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I thought they were OK, but I had over half the dish left after dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Sweet and simple. Makes a lot of sauce--I used the amount called for in the recipe for twice as many sweet potatoes, plus a butternut squash. I roasted them, then added the sauce for the last 15 minutes of cooking... They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I substituted the orange juice with apricot nectar which gave it just the right sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scorpiomoon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
These are Super Yummy! I just cubed and steamed the sweet potatoes, put the other ingredients in the serving dish added potatoes then mashed and served! All done in 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Made this for husband's family for Thanksgiving, as they don't do the marshmallow recipe. Baking them raw, in syrup, is quicker, and fine, but the edges get a little chewy. Boiling and stirring cooked potatoes into sauce is better result. I did some of both, since I had cut more potatoes than fit in a single layer of a 9x13 pan. Really a good recipe, quick, simple. I used a little shy of the amt of OJ in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsport, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is a great basic Sweet Potato recipe. Add Vanilla, Nutmeg, Cinnamon, and a pinch of ground Clove for a spicier flavor, and a dash of a good bourbon to really kick it up a notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States