Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
Very Good. I will be keeping this one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEAGAIN72461

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
This is an excellent recipe for sweet potatoes and very easy. It also works well with pineapple juice instead of orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This was very good - easy and delicious. The orange juice adds a wonderful taste - if you have any doubts, add a little, taste it and decide if you want to add more. I also sliced the potatoes and boiled them with the skin on. After they were tender, I drained the water, let them cool and then cubed the potatoe slices. It is easier to cut cooked sweet potatoes then raw ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
These were great! My family does not like the sweet potatoes with marshmallows and even those who do not like sweet potatoes in general (I am one) loved this recipe. I have made this for three family holidays and it has become a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
This recipe is great~ I made a few changes to it. I used yams instead of sweet potatoes. The color and the taste of the dish turned out better with yams~ I didn't add the orange juice to it also, so that it can caramelized~ It tasted just as good without the orange juice! I will make this dish again, but next time, I'll add less butter to it~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This is an easy and great tasting receipe. I changed it a little; I used maple syrup instead of brown sugar. I also cut the sweet potatoes in chunks raw, placed them in a buttered covered casserole dish and pour the sauce mixture over them, put them in a 375 degree oven for approx. an hour until the potatoes were done. Less time in the kitchen and less cleanup. Will use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
Last year, we all liked the special fresh zing that the orange juice added, so I'm making these again this year. Don't let the description fool you -- they are sweet, but not cloyingly so. However, I did change it a bit in that I added raisins (grew up having sweet potatoes with raisins and brown sugar and can't imagine them without raisins), which may have made them taste sweeter. While some of our leftovers got thrown away, we ate all of these for days until they were all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
I normally don't eat sweet potatoes, but this recipe got me hooked!! I really loved it!! Even my family members who do like sweet potatoes really enjoyed it also! Great, easy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
These wee really good! I made them for my amily this Thanksgiving, and my moter, who has uses and sworn by the Mrs. Pauls' packet for many, many years, says these are even better. i'll be making them next year. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
This is a delicous and easy recipe for sweet potatoes. The sauce has a wonderful unique blend of flavors from the butter, brown sugar, and orange juice. My mother is a southern lady who is now in her eighties. She had me prepare this for Thanksgiving dinner. She loved them! I would highly recommend this scrumption and EASY way of cooking sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith Harden

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States