Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
Last year, we all liked the special fresh zing that the orange juice added, so I'm making these again this year. Don't let the description fool you -- they are sweet, but not cloyingly so. However, I did change it a bit in that I added raisins (grew up having sweet potatoes with raisins and brown sugar and can't imagine them without raisins), which may have made them taste sweeter. While some of our leftovers got thrown away, we ate all of these for days until they were all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
I normally don't eat sweet potatoes, but this recipe got me hooked!! I really loved it!! Even my family members who do like sweet potatoes really enjoyed it also! Great, easy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2001
My whole family loved these and it is so easy to make.truely fool proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
This is an excellent recipe for sweet potatoes and very easy. It also works well with pineapple juice instead of orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
Very Good. I will be keeping this one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEAGAIN72461

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
These wee really good! I made them for my amily this Thanksgiving, and my moter, who has uses and sworn by the Mrs. Pauls' packet for many, many years, says these are even better. i'll be making them next year. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
These did not come out as I had anticipated. The orange juice ruined the taste. I think that it would have been WAY better if I had nilled the orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This was very good - easy and delicious. The orange juice adds a wonderful taste - if you have any doubts, add a little, taste it and decide if you want to add more. I also sliced the potatoes and boiled them with the skin on. After they were tender, I drained the water, let them cool and then cubed the potatoe slices. It is easier to cut cooked sweet potatoes then raw ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
Not at all as expected and the preparation is a bit much for a cooking holiday that is over-taxed to begin with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OFENJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
These were great! My family does not like the sweet potatoes with marshmallows and even those who do not like sweet potatoes in general (I am one) loved this recipe. I have made this for three family holidays and it has become a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States