Candied Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Absolutely loved it. I, too reduced both the sugar (used brown) and the vinegar to 1/2 a cup because it seemed like too much sugar. I couldn't keep my hands off it and had eaten my portion before we started dinner...yum yum and then more yum. Woke up and ate some for breakfast the next day too... smiles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I was very pleased with how this turn out. Unfortunately I did not have any onions present! Instead I used red pepper and it turned out surprisingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karmazynski

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ohio City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I wasn't so sure about this recipe at first, but my GF thought it would be nice. Glad I listened to her, turned out to be one of my favorite Salmon dishes. A little too much vinegar for me(not a fan of the taste/smell of vinegar) so next time we make it, I think I will either cut down on the Vinegar or increase the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I found this recipe to be very good. The preparation and the cook time was excellent for me and people who have late dinners. My girlfriend who is a Salmon lover but not one for food to be sweet unless it a dessert loved the carmelized onions. I feel this definitely rate a four. The kids want me to make it again lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Yum! I have to admit, I changed the recipe slightly - I used splenda instead of sugar because I'm on low carb diet, but this was delicious! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This recipe had way too much vinegar, it was hard on the eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
LOVE it. This isn't a recipe for just anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cool kids
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
The salmon that I used for this recipe was not very good quality and tasted fishy. This sauce was the only thing that could have made it edible (well, my kids smothered it in bbq sauce instead). I think the recipe would be excellent with good quality salmon. I did follow other reviewers' suggestions and only used 1/2 cup vinegar to the full 1 cup of brown sugar. I also did not have fresh onion on hand, so I used @1 frozen diced onion. I'm glad I didn't use the full 3 onions the recipe called for, that would have been too much for us. As for the reviewers who found that the sauce didn't caramelize, I think perhaps caramelize is the wrong word choice (especially if you used the full 1 cup vinegar). I waited until it had reduced by about 50% and then I poured it over the fish. That worked pretty well for us. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I made this tonight with peas and sautee'd sweet potatoes. I sprinkled a little bit of brown sugar on the top, cooked them in a tiny bit of butter and olive oil... Was fantastic. The salmon was delicious! Everyone loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Salmon II

See a straightforward, 5-star recipe for making baked salmon.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States