Candied Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
This was good. I likes the sweet tang to it, but I will try brown sugar instead of white next time. My husband doesn't like salmon, and was really disappointed when I told him that was for supper(I buy salmon for me and the girls-NOT for him) but since I'm out of groceries and this was all I had, I looked here for a really good salmon recipe. This one worked, he ate the fish, and said it was really good, "where did you get that recipe?". Here's a tip: Let the salmon sit in the sauce for at least 10 minutes before you serve it- it soaks it up and makes it moist- the fillets I took out and plated right as soon as it came out of the oven were kinda dry, but the ones that I was putting away after supper were super moist and flavorful. Thanks for making my husbands salmon dinner a pleasant experience!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~marie~

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
We did not enjoy this salmon at all. I consider myself an above average cook so I believe this was the recipe, not a result of something I did wrong. I boiled the onions in the vinegar/brown sugar...waiting for the "sauce" to reduce...it doesn't. So after about 45 minutes or so, I just spooned some of the liquid over the salmon along with the onions. The sauce which pooled around the bottom of the salmon burned onto my pan creating a lot of smoke; we couldn't taste the garlic butter at all (just added calories IMHO - you could omit this and I'm surprised nobody else mentioned it); and in the end, the onions were very chewy/sticky...not a nice meal in the least. We will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
shame on me for rating a recipe i changed, but i had to share -- made this w/ chicken breasts and it was abfab -- kids and picky hubby were happy -- look forward to trying it w/ fish ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
This was a really easy recipe, and best of all both my girls (8 and 13) ate it with no complaints. I used brown sugar instead of white, and only 1-1/2 onions instead of 3, and was very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARSHYNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Line, Missouri, USA
Photo by Johanne D.
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
So easy to do and so so delicious. I just made a small adjustment, instead of melting the butter and putting in the garlic I simply put om the salmon about 1 garlic clove, chopped finely, then I put on about 1/2 teaspoon of margarine (in little dabs), then the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Very unique combo and grouping of flavors! We LOVED it, but we like those flavors. It was so good my husband said he couldn't stop eating it! We also love salmon fillets too. We had it on wild salmon - yumm, yumm! A new keeper. Also, great presentation as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
don't use as much vinegar as it calls for - or use something else instead. The candied, caramelized onions were great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
I followed directions and my family just loved it. We cant wait to try it on other fish and chicken, to see how well it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Imperial, Missouri, USA
Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This recipe has too much vinegar and way too much sugar. It is just sicky sweet. The taste of the salmon doesn't come through at all.Lighten it up quite a bit by using less vinegar and sugar, and let that wonderful salmon flavor come through. Make sure it's cooked only until it flakes. Fish dries out quickly, so watch carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
My family did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Salmon II

See a straightforward, 5-star recipe for making baked salmon.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States