Candied Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
This was good. I likes the sweet tang to it, but I will try brown sugar instead of white next time. My husband doesn't like salmon, and was really disappointed when I told him that was for supper(I buy salmon for me and the girls-NOT for him) but since I'm out of groceries and this was all I had, I looked here for a really good salmon recipe. This one worked, he ate the fish, and said it was really good, "where did you get that recipe?". Here's a tip: Let the salmon sit in the sauce for at least 10 minutes before you serve it- it soaks it up and makes it moist- the fillets I took out and plated right as soon as it came out of the oven were kinda dry, but the ones that I was putting away after supper were super moist and flavorful. Thanks for making my husbands salmon dinner a pleasant experience!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~marie~

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
pretty good...i enjoyed it especially the onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda  Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburg, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I liked this recipe. The onions were definitely sweet and somewhat chewy. It was a nice change from the way I usually fix salmon. I probably should have added extra vinegar for more tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This is a really good recipe. Hubby loved it. Co-workers want the recipe! Based upon prior reviews, i decided it best to cut the vinegar by half, which I did, using only 1/2 cup with success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLEYBEE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
qiick, easy , pretty good but way to many onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaianasmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
First of all, I made this recipe for 2 servings, and a whole onion seemed like an awful lot, so I only sliced half an onion. Also, I used 1/2 tps garlic powder instead of minced fresh garlic. I don't know where I went wrong, but I cooked the sugar/vinegar mixture for almost 20 minutes and it never did carmelize. But it didn't seem to matter, because it turned out plenty tasty. My fiance and I really enjoyed it. I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
We did not enjoy this salmon at all. I consider myself an above average cook so I believe this was the recipe, not a result of something I did wrong. I boiled the onions in the vinegar/brown sugar...waiting for the "sauce" to reduce...it doesn't. So after about 45 minutes or so, I just spooned some of the liquid over the salmon along with the onions. The sauce which pooled around the bottom of the salmon burned onto my pan creating a lot of smoke; we couldn't taste the garlic butter at all (just added calories IMHO - you could omit this and I'm surprised nobody else mentioned it); and in the end, the onions were very chewy/sticky...not a nice meal in the least. We will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
i like salmon, but this is one preparation i could have done without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I thought this was fantastic. I loved the caramelized onions and the sweet sauce on the salmon. The salmon was perfect. My husband and kids did like the salmon but wasn't crazy about the sweet sauce on the salmon. I would certainly make this dish again especially for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKAYNICK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I tried this with haddock and thought that it was just ok. If I try it again I will be sure to use salmon it would probably be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Salmon II

See a straightforward, 5-star recipe for making baked salmon.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States