Candied Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This is a really good recipe. Hubby loved it. Co-workers want the recipe! Based upon prior reviews, i decided it best to cut the vinegar by half, which I did, using only 1/2 cup with success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLEYBEE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
qiick, easy , pretty good but way to many onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaianasmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
First of all, I made this recipe for 2 servings, and a whole onion seemed like an awful lot, so I only sliced half an onion. Also, I used 1/2 tps garlic powder instead of minced fresh garlic. I don't know where I went wrong, but I cooked the sugar/vinegar mixture for almost 20 minutes and it never did carmelize. But it didn't seem to matter, because it turned out plenty tasty. My fiance and I really enjoyed it. I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
We did not enjoy this salmon at all. I consider myself an above average cook so I believe this was the recipe, not a result of something I did wrong. I boiled the onions in the vinegar/brown sugar...waiting for the "sauce" to reduce...it doesn't. So after about 45 minutes or so, I just spooned some of the liquid over the salmon along with the onions. The sauce which pooled around the bottom of the salmon burned onto my pan creating a lot of smoke; we couldn't taste the garlic butter at all (just added calories IMHO - you could omit this and I'm surprised nobody else mentioned it); and in the end, the onions were very chewy/sticky...not a nice meal in the least. We will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
i like salmon, but this is one preparation i could have done without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I thought this was fantastic. I loved the caramelized onions and the sweet sauce on the salmon. The salmon was perfect. My husband and kids did like the salmon but wasn't crazy about the sweet sauce on the salmon. I would certainly make this dish again especially for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKAYNICK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I tried this with haddock and thought that it was just ok. If I try it again I will be sure to use salmon it would probably be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Photo by DIVALEXUS2002
Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I very much enjoyed this recipe, and would definetly make it again. I changed the recipe to feed one, and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
My family loved this recipe. I had been mixing brown sugar with butter for salmon since last summer but this recipe just gives it more flavor. I will be using this from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINDWHISPER84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
When I first found this recipe a while back I used it every time I prepared salmon. Lately I use it less, (I missed the hollandaise sauce!) but it's still a great variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anticipatingautumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Salmon II

See a straightforward, 5-star recipe for making baked salmon.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States