Candied Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I thought these were very good with the sugar reduced A LOT. 1 Cup sugar for a pound of nuts just seemed like to much to me. I used just a bit less than 1/3 cup sugar and it was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I've made this recipe at least 10 times and I absolutely love it! People I've made them for can't get over how good they are! A friend told me they are WAY better than any candied nuts she's bought at stores/festivals, etc. For a pound of nuts, I only use 1/3 C of sugar as I don't believe in using much sugar in anything. They are PLENTY sweet with that amount! I also add a t. of vanilla extract to the wet mix! YUM!!!!! I've never tried walnuts but I am right now...they are currently baking. Will let you all know how it turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Sooo good! I also reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and they were lightly sweet and perfect for us! Will make them often, specially to add to couple spinach and goat cheese salads that we like from this site, mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
It was DELICIOUS! I changed some things, though. Instead of water, I used vanilla extract. I also lowered the sugar amount to 2/3 cup-- 1/3 being regular white sugar and the other 1/3 brown sugar. The first time I did this, I didn't lower the salt amount, and it tasted like a salty-sweet snack. They were delicious! This time, I'm lowering it to maybe half a teaspoon for a sweeter taste. You can't go wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Everyone at work raves about how delicious these are! I double the batch using 2 pounds of pecans, 2 tsp of cinnamon and 2 egg whites, but then I make some changes: I replace the water with 2 tablespoons of vanilla, I also cut the sugar to 2/3 cup and only use 1.5 teaspoon of salt. My co-workers beg me to bring these in when we do our monthly pitch-in lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Indiana, USA
Living In: La Grange, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This is a great and simple recipe! I read all the reviews first to see what people did different, and I did them all plus my own twist. First I reduced the sugar to only 1/2 cup, and added honey! Replaced the water with vanilla, same amount of cinnamon, a dash of water,NO SALT but what I did different is instead of mixing the sugar mix separate i just added it in when the pecans were coated with the egg mix. Then to give it a good twist for the adults I added a cap full of whiskey and vodka. Such a great snack for everyone, naturally for children leave out the alcohol but still a great snack. Believe me by adding the alcohol gives it a different sweet taste, can't wait to do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
The recipe and directions are overall great. I recommend either omitting the salt all together or decrease the amount to 1/4 teaspoon. An entire teaspoon makes this treat more salty than sweet. I also replaced the water with a teaspoon of vanilla. I never understood the use of water when you can replace it with flavor. And I still had plenty of wet mix to coat the pound of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marlaina
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I've made this and it was delicious--an instant hit at a party. It's pretty effortless if you set an alarm every 15 minutes for an hour. Since the pre-packages pecans at my grocery store went by volume, not weight, I found "1 lb" to be unhelpful. I used 3.75 cups of pecans and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
As is, this recipe makes a delicious candied nut. There's no need to change anything -- the amount of sugar and salt are perfect. But if you want to kick it up a couple of notches, here are a few suggestions: - As mentioned before, replace the water with vanilla. - Add 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper to the sugar/cinnamon mixture. The unexpected heat makes people go crazy for them! - After you mix the nuts in with the egg mixture, remove them from it using a slotted spoon and then toss them into the sugar mixture. All of the excess egg is not necessary. BTW, this recipe works with mixed nuts, as well, but pecans are best. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csamfly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Don't skimp on the sugar!!! This recipe is identical to the one I've made for years. i tried the suggestion to reduce the sugar, and without the full cup of sugar they don't taste nearly as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

All about Pecans

Discover what these versatile, all-American nuts can do for your cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States