Candied Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I thought these were very good with the sugar reduced A LOT. 1 Cup sugar for a pound of nuts just seemed like to much to me. I used just a bit less than 1/3 cup sugar and it was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I've made this recipe at least 10 times and I absolutely love it! People I've made them for can't get over how good they are! A friend told me they are WAY better than any candied nuts she's bought at stores/festivals, etc. For a pound of nuts, I only use 1/3 C of sugar as I don't believe in using much sugar in anything. They are PLENTY sweet with that amount! I also add a t. of vanilla extract to the wet mix! YUM!!!!! I've never tried walnuts but I am right now...they are currently baking. Will let you all know how it turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Sooo good! I also reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and they were lightly sweet and perfect for us! Will make them often, specially to add to couple spinach and goat cheese salads that we like from this site, mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
It was DELICIOUS! I changed some things, though. Instead of water, I used vanilla extract. I also lowered the sugar amount to 2/3 cup-- 1/3 being regular white sugar and the other 1/3 brown sugar. The first time I did this, I didn't lower the salt amount, and it tasted like a salty-sweet snack. They were delicious! This time, I'm lowering it to maybe half a teaspoon for a sweeter taste. You can't go wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Everyone at work raved about how delicious these were! I doubled the batch to use 2 pounds of pecans, but I made some changes: for a double batch, I used 2 tablespoons of vanilla, used 2/3 cup sugar and 1.5 teaspoon of salt. I'll be making more of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Indiana, USA
Living In: La Grange, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This is a great and simple recipe! I read all the reviews first to see what people did different, and I did them all plus my own twist. First I reduced the sugar to only 1/2 cup, and added honey! Replaced the water with vanilla, same amount of cinnamon, a dash of water,NO SALT but what I did different is instead of mixing the sugar mix separate i just added it in when the pecans were coated with the egg mix. Then to give it a good twist for the adults I added a cap full of whiskey and vodka. Such a great snack for everyone, naturally for children leave out the alcohol but still a great snack. Believe me by adding the alcohol gives it a different sweet taste, can't wait to do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
The recipe and directions are overall great. I recommend either omitting the salt all together or decrease the amount to 1/4 teaspoon. An entire teaspoon makes this treat more salty than sweet. I also replaced the water with a teaspoon of vanilla. I never understood the use of water when you can replace it with flavor. And I still had plenty of wet mix to coat the pound of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Don't skimp on the sugar!!! This recipe is identical to the one I've made for years. i tried the suggestion to reduce the sugar, and without the full cup of sugar they don't taste nearly as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marlaina
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I've made this and it was delicious--an instant hit at a party. It's pretty effortless if you set an alarm every 15 minutes for an hour. Since the pre-packages pecans at my grocery store went by volume, not weight, I found "1 lb" to be unhelpful. I used 3.75 cups of pecans and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I did the recipe as is. Perhaps a little less salt then the recipe called for but other then that, I followed the recipe. I thought they came out great. I suppose you could use less sugar but I did not really think they were too sweet. I would do this again. My kids liked them too! They were great in the salad I made them for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

All about Pecans

Discover what these versatile, all-American nuts can do for your cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States