Candied Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
As is, this recipe makes a delicious candied nut. There's no need to change anything -- the amount of sugar and salt are perfect. But if you want to kick it up a couple of notches, here are a few suggestions: - As mentioned before, replace the water with vanilla. - Add 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper to the sugar/cinnamon mixture. The unexpected heat makes people go crazy for them! - After you mix the nuts in with the egg mixture, remove them from it using a slotted spoon and then toss them into the sugar mixture. All of the excess egg is not necessary. BTW, this recipe works with mixed nuts, as well, but pecans are best. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csamfly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Sweet, salty & crunchy, a perfect recipe. I did not have pecans so I used walnuts & lined the cookie sheet with parchment paper. A pound of nuts equals about 4 cups. Today I am using almonds & gifting these tasty treats to a lucky friend. Also chopped a few to use in a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I made two batches. One as written and one where I reduced the sugar to 2/3 cup and used bourbon instead of water. We liked the bourbon flavor much better. Next time I will try brown sugar or on the grill with som hickory chips for smoke. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I don't cook or back and I could do this recipe. So good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Made these for teacher appreciation week tonight and we must really appreciate these teachers because otherwise my family and would have eaten them all! Soooo good!!! I added a vanilla glaze in stripes because they reminded me of cinnamon buns so I figured, what the heck, lets guild the lily. I can't wait to get these out of my house or the teachers won't have many to munch! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Only made 4 ozs. I used 1 tbsp egg white, 1.5 tbsp white sugar, used 1 teas vanilla and 2 teas water, 1/4 teas cinnamon and omitted the salt. Baked for 1 hour stirring every 15 minutes. Yummy in salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
These are wonderful and have become quite a hit with the family. So easy to make! I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
EASY and very very tasty - I didn't rate 5 because I don't like power bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I just made this recipe and just ruined an entire pound of pecans. I made only slight changes, as suggested by other viewers, but the taste was not entirely the problem. From my experience, it was largely the duration of the baking that ruined the pecans. Not only did mine become WAY over cooked at the 45 minute mark after being stirred every 15 minutes, but they became unbelievably dry. From what I can sort of taste with my burnt batch is really not all that impressive. This is not a recipe I would use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Easy and excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

All about Pecans

Discover what these versatile, all-American nuts can do for your cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States