Candied Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by QueenieKing
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This recipe could not have been easier or more flexible!! You could add any spice you like. I used a mix of cinnamon, nutmeg, sea salt, and white pepper. In a lot of the reviews the amount of sugar was reduced, I didn't, because I used the full amount of sea salt. My family loves that salty sweet combination. Very happy with the results! This would be a great "no sweat" recipe to use for an economical, personal, from the heart edible gift. In these hard economical times my family and friends really appreciate yummy gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I did the recipe as is. Perhaps a little less salt then the recipe called for but other then that, I followed the recipe. I thought they came out great. I suppose you could use less sugar but I did not really think they were too sweet. I would do this again. My kids liked them too! They were great in the salad I made them for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I made these as directed for a table favors for my October 2013 wedding. They were a huge hit, everyone asked for the recipe. I will also make them for Christmas gift this year. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weelass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
i use only brown sugar, and replace the water with apple liqueur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I absolutely love these. I put them on our salads and my kids just eat them by the handfuls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This is a great and simple recipe! I read all the reviews first to see what people did different, and I did them all plus my own twist. First I reduced the sugar to only 1/2 cup, and added honey! Replaced the water with vanilla, same amount of cinnamon, a dash of water,NO SALT but what I did different is instead of mixing the sugar mix separate i just added it in when the pecans were coated with the egg mix. Then to give it a good twist for the adults I added a cap full of whiskey and vodka. Such a great snack for everyone, naturally for children leave out the alcohol but still a great snack. Believe me by adding the alcohol gives it a different sweet taste, can't wait to do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I have made this recipe 4 times in the past two weeks. I have used pecans, walnuts and almonds. They all have turned out great. Our favorite are the pecans. As another reviewer suggested, we use vanilla instead of water and use brown sugar and white sugar. I double the batch with no problem and they never last more than a day. They are addicting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Love this recipe. Followed it exactly and it is just how candied pecans should be. Very easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Made this low carb! Also, doubled the cinnamon and used 1 t vanilla in place of some of the water. I subbed the sugar with 1/4 cup packed brown sugar (about 53g carb and about 214cal) and 1/2 cup Splenda granulated (NOT the sugar blend, 12g carb, 48 cal). The pecans themselves (1 lb) have 3100 cal and 62g carbs. The other ingredients are negligible (ok, egg white is 17 cal). For a total of about 3380 cal and 127 carbs for the whole recipe. You'll have to do the math yourself to see a per serving count, cause you know it's hard to stop eating! But you definately are going to save on cals and carbs using the Splenda and it still tastes great. Everyone at work raved over these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I made a batch of these, as is, with the addition of some vanilla for flavor. And I also made a different batch that was cooked on the stove top. Of the almost 20 people who tried them, they all agreed this was the favorite of the two. I WILL be making these again for Christmas. Thank you for the use of your recipe. I believe I will try some alterations for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

All about Pecans

Discover what these versatile, all-American nuts can do for your cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States