Candied Grapefruit Peel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I hate to waste anything. So I decided to make good use of the lovely grapefruit peel. This was a wonderful easy recipe. Loved the tangy citrus flavor I remembered from my childhood. What a wonderful treat. You don't have to only make it for holidays. Tasted great as an after dinner sweet with my mocha cappuccino!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knightingale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jordyn
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was great! I added cranberries and a little lemon extract to give it a more citrusy kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I love all grapefruit but this was definitely not my thing. It's a pity, too because I found it to be an incredibly time consuming process. I've had a handful of people try it and nobody was particularly impressed; I won't be trying this again any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I make these every few Christmases, only a large batch. Really the only difference is, after they have been boiled in syrup and simmered until syrup is mostly absorbed, I lay them out to dry and then roll then in granulated sugar. Then they dry some more, and I roll them in sugar again! Definately more like a candy than anything, and you either LOVE them like I do, or hate them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This is a very exquisit recipe. My Grandmother used to make these many years ago and I did not have her recipe and these are just like the ones she made. Fabulous. A little bling to the tongue, a wonderful after dinner sweet. These are Christmas to me. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I give it four stars because it is time consuming, but the end result is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I followed the recipe to the T.It turned out great.I made one small variation and added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon to the sugar that was sprinkled on top.As far as removing the pith I used a grapefruit spoon to scrape off what was left after using a knife. As I try not to waste anything,I added the left over sugar syrup to my sangria recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Did I do something wrong? This took 9 hours, start to finish. I wasn't working that whole time, but I was amazed at how long it took. Plus, I don't know if I was supposed to get all the pith off or not, so I did. That took an hour alone, and it killed my wrists and wasted some of the peel. Is there an easy way to do that? When it was finally done, my kids said it was "weird." I thought the taste was okay. It made very little, considering all the work I did for it. I will not do this recipe ever again, unless easier instructions are included.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I made this for my Grandmother Twigg, She loved it. She said her Mother made this when she was a child.This is a great recipe!!! We all loved it The Twiggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ari and clint

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States