Candied Garlic Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
These wings were great. I don't boil or refridgerate the sauce first. I just mix the ingredients well, then pour it right on top of the wings. No need to go through the extra steps, they turn out perfect without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This recipe was really good! I added a good splash of cider vinegar and about 10 dashes of hot sauce to the marinade before boiling. I also used chicken strips instead of wings. The chicken cooked perfectly on a shorter schedule: 10 min., turn, 10 min., then 5 min. on a broiler pan. Also, I made another half-batch of marinade (with 1 tablespoon cider vinegar and 5 dashes hot sauce) and stirred in 1 tablespoon cornstarch mixed with 3 tablespoons water while it boiled. I served the extra sauce for dipping, and the next day, threw the leftovers together into one container. It microwaved up just as good as the oven version! The next time I do this, I plan to make rice and serve the chicken and sauce over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCORTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
This is definitely TOO sweet! I was so sure of this recipe, I mean, it has almost identical ingredients to dozens of other recipes I've tried, however, upon looking back at the ingredients, I noticed it was missing one key ingredient other similar recipes had: vinegar. I think that is why this was too sweet, it was missing vinegar and hence, a 4 star rating instead of a 5. I think because this recipe calls for 1 1/2 cups of honey, maybe 1/4-1/2 cup of vinegar should be right? Anyhow, I added freshly grated ginger to the sauce to give it more of an asian flare. The good thing about this sauce is that it did carmelized nicely on the wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Decided to take this a step further by adding balsamic vinegar to the marinade, cut the honey back to 3/4 of a cup and added garlic and onion powders. While my chicken was cooking, I placed the marinade into a sauce pan to reduce and become nice and thick. Once the chicken was almost done, I brushed the thickened sauce over the wing, added some sesame seeds and baked for another ten minutes. Kids and hubby flipped over this. Thanks Vickee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
Great wings... brought them to a Wing Contest and they went over very well. One of the first wings to disappear. I topped them with toasted sesame seeds and green onions. Would have added a little cayenne and increased the baking temp after taking the foil off next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
Absolutely loved these wings! What a nice change from the same ol' hot wings. I used extra garlic and did add some cayenne pepper and a pinch or two of crushed red pepper to add a little zip to the sweetness of the wings. I only wished I doubled the recipe because they went to fast! Thanx for a great recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teasingu2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Plainville, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
I didnt have any honey on hand but had a huge craving for "sticky chicken" so, I used corn syrup and also because of the mess my kids make with wings, I substitued drumsticks. The kids ignored the side dishes and went ga- ga over the chicken. We had -NO- left overs with this chicken!! Thanks Vickee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kittery, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
Sorry! This recipe was almost the worst thing I have tasted. The wings were way to sweet, and it needed more seasoning. The soy sauce gave it a nasty after taste. I would not recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
We liked it. I changed the servings, because I had a 3 lb bag of wings. There were 4 of us (5th was a child who doesn't like chicken, so he doesn't count) and there were still not enough wings! I marinated 20 hrs. I would give it 5 stars, but there is a another recipe here I like better. (Japanese Chicken Wings)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
This recipe was really easy to make and it did not involve that many ingredients. The chicken wings were delicious and everybody gave it compliments!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States