Candied Fruit Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
WOW! I never made biscotti before, but everyone I gave this too loved it, and two even made it themselves after. I made it for a church Christmas bakesale and my husband wouldn't let me take more than 1/2. I like the fact that the pieces aren't huge, just about 4-5 inches long when the logs are sliced horizontally. The only changes I made were from earlier reviews, adding about a cup more flour, using almond instead of anise (didn't have anise), and using entire container of fruit (2 cups). Not only for Christmas around here!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I made these for Christmas this year based on the reviews I read. These Biscotti's were very nice. I made them as the recipe called and also with white chocolate along the bottom. I loved them either way. I brought some to work and they were a big hit with my co-workers also. The dried candy was a bit hard and chewy. Not sure why that happened or if anyone else had this problem. Thanks to others who told that the dough would be very sticky. I was prepared for that and therefore was able to work well with it with a little more flour. I used just enough to be easier to handle and tried to handle it as little as possible as not to dry them out. Thank you for this recipe. I will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
We like this recipe so much. I'll be making it for Christmas gifts. Adding a little extra flour right from the start made preparation easier. Maybe about a half cup more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I had never made biscotti before and these came out really well. I just wanted a recipe to use some extra candied fruit. I refrigerated the dough for 3 hours and it wasn't difficult (too sticky) to work with at all. So simple and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNJROSE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
I made this recipe three times (needed 9 dozen cookies)for a Christmas cookie swap. This is a delicious cookie I was pleased to share with our friends and family! It's a sure "must make" on next year's cookie list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
I used candied cherries only because it was what was on hand and these were great cookies. good dunkers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
Very yummy! A subtle anise flavor and very festive with the candied fruit! Super easy to make-dough a little sticky though. Had to heavily flour work surface and hands....worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Everyone loves these cookies! Great for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
These were really yummy! I usually don't like using anise, but in this recipe it wasn't over powering at all. I dipped them in chocolate and gave them away as gifts. Rave reviews from all who ate them, with or without the chocolate. Will definitley make these next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Great recipe. Easy to make. Taste is wonderful (although our family is italian and a big fan of annisette so, i sprinkled in a little bit more.) These cookies look so pretty for the holidays-but I make them all year long. They are a wonderful coffee cookie. I have been using this recipe for over a year now and i get compliments every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States