Candied Fruit Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
WOW! I never made biscotti before, but everyone I gave this too loved it, and two even made it themselves after. I made it for a church Christmas bakesale and my husband wouldn't let me take more than 1/2. I like the fact that the pieces aren't huge, just about 4-5 inches long when the logs are sliced horizontally. The only changes I made were from earlier reviews, adding about a cup more flour, using almond instead of anise (didn't have anise), and using entire container of fruit (2 cups). Not only for Christmas around here!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I made these for Christmas this year based on the reviews I read. These Biscotti's were very nice. I made them as the recipe called and also with white chocolate along the bottom. I loved them either way. I brought some to work and they were a big hit with my co-workers also. The dried candy was a bit hard and chewy. Not sure why that happened or if anyone else had this problem. Thanks to others who told that the dough would be very sticky. I was prepared for that and therefore was able to work well with it with a little more flour. I used just enough to be easier to handle and tried to handle it as little as possible as not to dry them out. Thank you for this recipe. I will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
I HAVE USED THIS RECIPE AS MY STANDARD, HAVE MADE THIS EVERY OTHER WEEK FOR 2 YEARS IT IS GREAT WITH ALL KINDS OF ADDED STUFF - FIGS APPRICOTS WALNUTS, CRANBERRIES, ORANGES YOU NAME IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
Very yummy! A subtle anise flavor and very festive with the candied fruit! Super easy to make-dough a little sticky though. Had to heavily flour work surface and hands....worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
There is a special place in Heaven for You Because you shared this Recipe with me.Thanks for a great Cookie. Second Batch I added 2 cups tiny pieces of candied fruit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doctors Inlet, Florida, USA
Living In: Duisburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I love these festive biscotti. Next time I will add a little more candied fruit (maybe about 2 cups).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
This is the worst biscotti recipe I have ever made. It is way too sweet, and there's no flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
I am a big fan of biscotti and was delighted to try this recipe. It is perfect for the holidays! It is colorful and very tasty! Great Recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
The Best alternative to that fruitcake that gets passed around year to year. The kids ate it, the in-laws ate it, and even the husband asked for more!!! We call it Christmas Biscotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Easy to make, delicious to eat! I did not need the refrigerator time, I just baked these loaves. Once each loaf was baked, I only needed 10 minutes per side to finish the baking! I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States