Candied Citrus Peel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I love this recipe. I saw it in a traditional cookbook we have and made it last Christmas. This year I went to find the book and it was missing. I was so happy to find this recipe here. I have people begging me to make it. They are time consuming but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Worked great for me. Make sure you take the peels out of the sugar water after the 15 minutes...I waited too long, so they were a bit too gooey. I then chocolate coated them....AN EXCELLENT CANDY. Very well recieved. I have to hide them so they won't disappear so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Santa Paula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
This recipe was a hit with my family. I was surprised because I first tried grapefruit peel. My husband kept raiding my stash and ended up eating every last one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salmon, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I did this recipe with kumquat peels and loved it! I made 4 vertical cuts at the compass points and peeled by hand from there. Because of the thin peels, I only did the first step twice. I then dipped it in chocolate. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.H. Wiggle;P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made Citrus Jam and wondered what to do with all the peels after I grated all I could use for zest. Thank you, thank you, thank you! Citrus peel candied & awaiting a chocolate dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Just the recipe I was looking for to make some Candied Citrus for an Eccles Cake recipe I'm making. Unfortunately the shops don't keep Candied Fruits here off season. Easy to make, but a bit time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I thought this made a great treat. Was easy to make and didn't take that long the prepare. They drying took a while though, but it was worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This recipe is really yummy! I used orange peels and planned to use them to decorate a cheesecake; I had to stop myself from eating them all. I followed the directions exactly, and the orange peels were very sweet, not bitter at all. Just one word of warning -- take the peels out of the syrup no later than 15 minutes after you put them in; I waited a few extra minutes and the sugar syrup crystallized before I could get the last couple out. If that happens to you, just add some hot water to the pot. It'll wash away some sugar, but the peels will still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I used a citrus zester to make long very thin ribbons of lemon rind with no pith. Cooked exactly as directed. When done and cool enough to handle, I put the candied rind in a small bowl of sugar and tossed it, separating the rind into individual pieces. It looked great (and tasted great) on top of my lemon cheese cake. Thanks for the easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
This was easy. After they dried I tossed them in granulated sugar. A tip to make the removal of the pith super easy - use a Pampered Chef grapefruit knife. You'll be done in a jiffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States