Candied Citrus Peel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Super! so happy to find a basic recipe for candied citrus peel! Added notes: For gorgeous presentation, cut citrus peel in spiral. For result more citrus peel-y and less candy-fied... do step 1 only 2x (instead of 3x), also skip the 10 min simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This recipe is really yummy! I used orange peels and planned to use them to decorate a cheesecake; I had to stop myself from eating them all. I followed the directions exactly, and the orange peels were very sweet, not bitter at all. Just one word of warning -- take the peels out of the syrup no later than 15 minutes after you put them in; I waited a few extra minutes and the sugar syrup crystallized before I could get the last couple out. If that happens to you, just add some hot water to the pot. It'll wash away some sugar, but the peels will still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Worked great for me. Make sure you take the peels out of the sugar water after the 15 minutes...I waited too long, so they were a bit too gooey. I then chocolate coated them....AN EXCELLENT CANDY. Very well recieved. I have to hide them so they won't disappear so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Santa Paula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
This was easy. After they dried I tossed them in granulated sugar. A tip to make the removal of the pith super easy - use a Pampered Chef grapefruit knife. You'll be done in a jiffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
This recipe was a hit with my family. I was surprised because I first tried grapefruit peel. My husband kept raiding my stash and ended up eating every last one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salmon, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Tastes just like gumdrops...only better! Easy to do, but beware it takes some time, mostly "babysitting". Worth it though! Dipped them in sugar while still a little sticky and will use them to decorate a lemon bundt cake. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I used a citrus zester to make long very thin ribbons of lemon rind with no pith. Cooked exactly as directed. When done and cool enough to handle, I put the candied rind in a small bowl of sugar and tossed it, separating the rind into individual pieces. It looked great (and tasted great) on top of my lemon cheese cake. Thanks for the easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I tried to take the shortcut and listened to another reviewer, who said you should only boil these twice. I was left with peels with a very bitter pith. I made another batch, boiled them three times, and they turned out perfectly. The moral of the story is follow the recipe as written, and you'll get perfectly candied citrus peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I like this recipe for the 3 step blanching process and the simple instructions (no candy thermometer!). I do change the sugar/water ratios to 1/3C and 3/4C which allows the cooked peel to be rolled in sugar without being overly sweet. Try this recipe using sliced ginger -- it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I love this recipe. I saw it in a traditional cookbook we have and made it last Christmas. This year I went to find the book and it was missing. I was so happy to find this recipe here. I have people begging me to make it. They are time consuming but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Buddha's Hand Citron

See how to make a unique candied citrus treat.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States