Candied Citrus Peel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Just the recipe I was looking for to make some Candied Citrus for an Eccles Cake recipe I'm making. Unfortunately the shops don't keep Candied Fruits here off season. Easy to make, but a bit time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
This was easy. After they dried I tossed them in granulated sugar. A tip to make the removal of the pith super easy - use a Pampered Chef grapefruit knife. You'll be done in a jiffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I used a citrus zester to make long very thin ribbons of lemon rind with no pith. Cooked exactly as directed. When done and cool enough to handle, I put the candied rind in a small bowl of sugar and tossed it, separating the rind into individual pieces. It looked great (and tasted great) on top of my lemon cheese cake. Thanks for the easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This recipe is really yummy! I used orange peels and planned to use them to decorate a cheesecake; I had to stop myself from eating them all. I followed the directions exactly, and the orange peels were very sweet, not bitter at all. Just one word of warning -- take the peels out of the syrup no later than 15 minutes after you put them in; I waited a few extra minutes and the sugar syrup crystallized before I could get the last couple out. If that happens to you, just add some hot water to the pot. It'll wash away some sugar, but the peels will still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
This recipe was a hit with my family. I was surprised because I first tried grapefruit peel. My husband kept raiding my stash and ended up eating every last one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salmon, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Worked great for me. Make sure you take the peels out of the sugar water after the 15 minutes...I waited too long, so they were a bit too gooey. I then chocolate coated them....AN EXCELLENT CANDY. Very well recieved. I have to hide them so they won't disappear so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Santa Paula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I love this recipe. I saw it in a traditional cookbook we have and made it last Christmas. This year I went to find the book and it was missing. I was so happy to find this recipe here. I have people begging me to make it. They are time consuming but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I thought this made a great treat. Was easy to make and didn't take that long the prepare. They drying took a while though, but it was worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2005
They were ok, but not really worth all of the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Zest Lemons and Limes

See how to zest lemons and limes to use in everything from baking to beverages.

Crispy Edamame

See how to make an easy, delicious baked snack that’s also healthy!

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States