Candied Citrus Peel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Turned out pretty good. I had read in some other recipes a recommendation to save the syrup for teas. It tasted ok but if you do use a strong tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I like this recipe for the 3 step blanching process and the simple instructions (no candy thermometer!). I do change the sugar/water ratios to 1/3C and 3/4C which allows the cooked peel to be rolled in sugar without being overly sweet. Try this recipe using sliced ginger -- it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Ahhh, I've tried twice to make this recipe and each batch came out yucky and bitterrrr. Half of the second set didn't have the bitterness but were far too sweet in my opinion. All that sugar inside and out... just didn't seem to be that appealing! Someday I will try these again... third time's the charm right? I donno what I'm doing wrong so that I'm not getting all these same rave reviews! :
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Excellent! My first time making candied orange peel and it was a huge success. I love this! As someone else remarked, tasted almost like those orange jelly candies. Orange flavor just erupts in your mouth! I used a veggie peeler to peel the orange so it wasn't beautiful (I was using the peel in a recipe) so no pith. A little time is spent but the flavor is big. Will definitely make this again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This was easy but took a little time. I'm delighted with the result. It's well worth doing this to have around for recipes where you might ordinarily use expensive store products loaded with preservatives. I'll definitely do it again. Definitely double it, which takes about 2 large oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEP47

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Neither of the two batches I made turned out very good. The recipe doesnt specify if the pith must be removed or not, so I tried it both ways in small batches. Decided that the pith should be left as it made them softer, although it didnt change the bitterness. Overall this was bitter for my taste and my excitement at finding this recipe turned to disappointment. Not the candied peel I am used to For Sure. I'll decide if I keep this to try perfecting again if my Man likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ambrosia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Tastes just like gumdrops...only better! Easy to do, but beware it takes some time, mostly "babysitting". Worth it though! Dipped them in sugar while still a little sticky and will use them to decorate a lemon bundt cake. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This recipe was so great, and so easy. I made it as a topping/decoration for my wedding cake. I used some of the extra large-crystal sugar that I dusted the cake with, and dusted the citrus peel as it cooled. My Fiance (now husband) couldn't resist grabbing a piece while it was still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This wasn't too difficult to make...I thought it tasted yummy although it did have a bitter after taste but combined with the sugar coating it wasn't too bad. Probably will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Super! so happy to find a basic recipe for candied citrus peel! Added notes: For gorgeous presentation, cut citrus peel in spiral. For result more citrus peel-y and less candy-fied... do step 1 only 2x (instead of 3x), also skip the 10 min simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Zest Lemons and Limes

See how to zest lemons and limes to use in everything from baking to beverages.

Crispy Edamame

See how to make an easy, delicious baked snack that’s also healthy!

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States