Candied Citrus Peel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Do not use a metal fork to get the orange peels out of the syrup!! The movement causes the sugar to crystalize and form into one solid sugar rock (trust me, I learned the hard way...). I suggest draining the remaining syrup into a container and then removing the peels and placing onto a drying rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
worked great coated in sugar for garnishing lemon cupcakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is THE recipe for candied citrus peels! We did a head-to-head tasting of these and "Sweet Candied Orange and Lemon Peel" and these won by a landslide. I've done it using both grapefruit and oranges and it turned out tasty both times. Changing the water three times allows you to really get the bitterness out of the pith (we like our peels a little chewy) and makes the peels beautifully translucent. I ramped it up a bit and rolled it in sugar after it had dried for 3 hrs and it was awesome! I also like the idea of coating it in chocolate as one reviewer did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I doubled the recipe and otherwise followed it to the letter: perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Was actually very easy! Not a whole lot of work, in my book. I sprinkled sugar on them when they were cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChelleBelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I tried to take the shortcut and listened to another reviewer, who said you should only boil these twice. I was left with peels with a very bitter pith. I made another batch, boiled them three times, and they turned out perfectly. The moral of the story is follow the recipe as written, and you'll get perfectly candied citrus peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Made this with some grapefruit that my friend picked off of her tree for me. Everyone, young and old, LOVED these little 'candies'! It was my first time peeling the thin outer portion from a grapefruit so I used several different techniques, but in the end they all looked, cooked and tasted the same. I can't wait to try other citrus fruits. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3daisys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made Citrus Jam and wondered what to do with all the peels after I grated all I could use for zest. Thank you, thank you, thank you! Citrus peel candied & awaiting a chocolate dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I did this recipe with kumquat peels and loved it! I made 4 vertical cuts at the compass points and peeled by hand from there. Because of the thin peels, I only did the first step twice. I then dipped it in chocolate. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.H. Wiggle;P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Glitter Side
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Yummy Candied Lemon Peel. I wanted the peel to be a bit more frosted. So after doing the process I let the peel dry over night. Then put them into a zip lock with some bakers sugar and shook it. Great way to sugar coat the peels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glitter Side

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States