Candied Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Tried this recipe for the first time tonight, and yummy...yum yum!! Here are a few suggestions I used, and that we loved. I did the sauce as directed, and added a few dashes of cayanne. As for the chicken,(I used 3 chicken breasts) I took another reviewers suggestion and 1.)Cut chicken breasts into cubes and placed them in a bowl with two beaten eggs, salt & pepper(to taste). Allow the chicken to sit in egg mixture 15-30mins. 2.) Take a cookie sheet(or baking sheet)cover with foil, and spread a decent amount of cornstarch on it and bread your cubed chicken pieces. 3.)Deep fry chicken pieces at 375 degrees until golden brown. 4.)Allow chicken to de-grease on a paper-lined plate. Now bring sauce to a boil and add fried chicken pieces and allow the sauce to adhere to chicken in boiling sauce for 10mins or so. I served the chicken over sticky rice/sweet rice with pineapple chunks....and fiancee licked the plate clean!! It is one of our favorite new recipes, and look forward to making it many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
YUM-YUM I MADE 3 CHANGES I ADDED MINCED GARLIC, 1/2 CUP WHITE WINE-GERMAN MOSEL RIVER, [NO SALT-1 teaspoon GORDON FOOD SERVICE-GFS-Chicken Base
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Wow. We all loved the Candied Chicken Breasts over rice with lots of fresh pineapple. Glad it made a few cups of juice since I added more chicken to assure leftovers. Didn't cook more than 45 min. though since already fried (used Coconut oil) it seemed to be boiling in juice. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
The sauce was good, but the oregano added a strange flavor. I would try again without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This was a big hit. Reading reviews I chose not to fry briefly. Save time save clean up. I used a mix of regular bread crumbs and panko. I cut breasts into strips as one person said in her review. Strips made serving a lot easier, as some wanted a lot, others wanted smaller portions. Strips also made more servings. For the sauce (oh so good) I used about 1/3 c. honey with ½ a tablespoon of brown sugar (I had a small amount of honey I wanted to use up). Next time I will make a lot more sauce, and use more onions. The sauce was so good – plates were totally cleaned. I will add some extra sauce and mix into the rice next time. I don’t think you can overdo serving this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
everyone loved it i did use canned pineapple and the100 % juice instead of the water. i also put the pineapple on the chicken while it baked. a few other adjustments, to our liking. but this is a very easy recipe. will differently make it again. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Made this last night. Delicious! I used thick breasts and it did take almost the full hour. They were perfectly juicy and delicious! We LOVED the sauce. We don't look soy sauce, so we substituted with Trader Joe's balsamic vinegar, and I added crushed red pepper. At the suggestion of another reviewer, substituted water with about 1/2 cup of pineapple juice. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catawissa, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
A little sweet...you have to be careful what you pair it with. We tried couscous and I think rice would have been a better balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetroitTigress
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This was incredible! Per previous review I skipped the breadcrumb mixture and just floured the chicken breasts, then browned them. I also lowered the brown sugar slightly and thought it was still sweet enough. I would make this for company - it can have really nice presentation if you choose to do so! Thanks Judi Ann!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 671) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States