Candied Apples II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
If the recipe had included directions on cooking the sugar mixture, I would be able to enjoy the apples right now. It left out a very important step such as DON'T STIR THE MIXTURE AFTER IT BOILS OR IT WILL NEVER THICKEN!!! I found this crucial step in other recipes after waiting for the mixture to thicken. This recipe has potential to be good because it seems so easy, and it is, if it wasn't for the lousy lack of directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
320 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Add about 1/2 pack (or more for your taste) of cherry Kool-Aid powder to the mixture to flavor. Other flavors of Kool-Aid would be yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
The apples came out great, tasted just like at the fair. Recommend using smaller apples and since the sugar hardens fast, don't do more than ten at a time. Also, make sure the apples are completely dry and wax free, otherwise the candy won't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
These apples taste just like the ones you get at a fair. I made them as a treat for my co-workers and they loved them. Just be sure you have enough time to wait for the sugar to reach the hard crack stage. i followed the advice of the person who said to put the pot in hot water when dipping and this kept the candy pliable for dipping as it does harden very quickly once removed from the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
They turned out fantastic just like the ones at the fair you just have to cook it until when dropped in water the candy forms strings it's must
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
I am 11 and have been baking since 5.believe me its a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
I made this once and it didn't turn out it didn't stick to the apples and harden....... i will try it again though and see if it will turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMATULLAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
You have to work very fast or the syrup starts to thicken and won't coat evenly. I added grape oil to give it flavor. Even though I used small apples, I had to double the recipe to get 15 apples coated. Overall, they tasted good, but weren't worth all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I made this recipe more than once! Candy making is not forgiving a candy thermomorter a must! if you under do it is sticky if you over do it is rock hard. Try using this recipe with red hots (a bag) to flavor and color unstead of red die. makes the flavor good. also can add a little cherry extract. taste like the fairs. Let the candy thermomorter read about 260 than turn heat down to cook rest of the way. this receipe can burn in a half of second after hard crack ball stage. must watch. Also don't kid yourself candy making is dangerous I burned myself trying to save my expensive pan. Heat and water don't mix. I went into the hospital and had my baby that night with a burned scar on my hand. So don't do like myself and have a bunch of screaming kids at the table. the less distraction the better. Oh must have apples layed out on wax paper. use popsicle sticks unstead of the pricy apple sticks. spray wax paper with pam. after apple is dipped and dry use a cheap sandwich bag and tie off with red or green curling string. To remove excess wax peper off apples use a clean new wet rag. To clean pan pour excess syrup in some old crisco can or something you will throw away. soak your pan in dish liquid and water. Recipe is a keeper once you've mastered it. This receipe is not your every day and is very tricky but well worth it! so go ahead and charge like the fairs. or give away. Most likely will ruin a batch or two. but once you've found your magic stick with it! well good luck!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
Its easy, and fun, I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States