Candied Apples II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
My first candied apples: changed a couple of things for flavoring, but in the end a really GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
very great recipe!!!!! works like a charm! I don't suggest adding kool-aid to it though like someone else did, I tried it they tasted like cherry cough syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buterfly628

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Yummy! After failing with a packaged mix from the store I tried this recipe. Turned out great. It takes awhile to get to the hard cracked stage ( about 40 minutes for us) but they are worth it. I stirred my sugar mixture before it boiled -- no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toulon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Good recipe, I cut the apple into cubes and dunked them in. My mother was at church wile I did this, the candy hardened to the pan and I FREAKED! but then I melted it down and poure d it away, im good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cameron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Delicious! Takes me back to my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Delicious! Keep in mind to look for the "hard ball" stage (or use a candy thermometer), rather than a timer, to ensure that the candy is at a suitable consistency. I personally had to cook mine for well over an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
best candy apples ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I've made this three times now and it's easy. Tips: You really do have to cook it the full 30 minutes or it doesn't get thick enough. Definitely test by dropping in cold water. It should be hard; that's when you know it's ready. I also added the red food coloring while it was boiling, and it was more like 12 drops to get the rich red color. If you use green apples which taste better with the candy coating, be aware that the red shell will not be as 'red'. May have to double dip. Work fast. The coating dries fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This is the perfect "fair type" candy apple recipe!!! If you ar having trouble with texture or not thickening, then you did not get to the hard crack stage during cooking. I coated 13 med. size apples and am SO happy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherrySue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Very good! I didn't have any problem with it hardening too fast or it being too sticky. If it's too sticky it wasn't done boiling. Also I would recommend adding the food coloring before it's done. You're on a time-crunch at that point. This was actually really fun to make! I had a blast dropping the candy into water and then eating the crunchy strings. This will be a family tradition! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Palmyra, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States