Candied Apples II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Don't change a thing! After a few trials & errors I got it just right... I tried using Koolaid and my husband didn't like it. Also, if you work fast enough you can get all of the apples coated without putting the pan in boiling water - although I found it was only enough to coat 12 small mcintoshs. Using a thermometer is crucial as the one time I didn't have it hot enough and the candy didn't harden (sticky & messy), and the other time I cooked it too long and it had a burnt taste. One last note - as others have commented, once it gets boiling don't stir or it won't thicken. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
These are GREAT! So fun to make and simple to do too! I did have a slight problem though, I cut the recipe down to make only 4 apples, (just to see how they would turn out), but I only was able to get 2 whole apples and like 1/2 of another apple covered, and I used small apples, so I'm not sure how many apples the full recipe will yield. I can't wait to surprise my hubby with these when he gets home from work, (he has been begging me to try them). They look beautiful and I tasted a little off the 1/2 apple and it was sooooo good, just like I remember from a local bakery that used to be by my house. I will for sure be using this recipe over and over! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This was a exellent recipe it was easy and fun. The apples turn out great. I used the kool-aid (cherry) but only very little of it and it turn out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Excellent...made the recipe as is and the results were great only recommendation is don't use large pot to cook mixture in...the smaller the pot the easier it is to coat the apples!! Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I didn't have a thermometer so I just made sure to stay close to the pot. Once it started to thicken visually I tried dropping a little into a cup of cold water. I did this a few times a few minutes apart until it hardened in the water. DO NOT USE KOOLAID!!! I tried it despite somebody elses warnings. It was burnt tasting and cough syrupy. But when I tried it again without it it turned out GREAT. I used green food coloring with granny smith apples. Looked fantastic and tasted perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fuquay Varina, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
The taste was good but the directions where not specific enough for how long to cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magical Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Well i was very excited about this recipe, the came out looking great, bright red and shinny, but the candie was so hard that we couldn´t bite into it. i don´t know what went wrong or are this the way they are supposed to be? because i remember they where like chewy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Awesome Recipe! I have made so many batches I can't even tell you how many. I have made them for boy scouts, friends, neighbors, meetings and everyone that has a pot luck is now asking me to bring them! I too kept stirring and it didn't thicken so thank you to those who said "don't stir". For Xmas we wax paper wrapped them with ribbons and gave them as gifts to neighbors. thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
was lacking some authentic candy apple flavor. still looking around for a good recipe. good if you just want a red sugar candy coated apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebakedbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Great Recipe, thanks to those who said not to stir!!! I was stirring and thought I was doing or did something wrong because it wasn't thickening! You really saved my behind! Although, the recipe didn't say to stir, I just "assumed". so good recipe! and thanks! yeh, it was great to know you could also add food coloring before it was done, I had a hard time checking the clear mixture. also, used some cadies to roll them in like crushed candy canes mmmmmmmmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Candied Buddha's Hand Citron

See how to make a unique candied citrus treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States