Candied Apples II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I tried this recipe, and it failed miserably! My coating never got hard, and it just made a sticky mess! I will never make this again. I agree with other reviews that some of the steps are missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
The candy wasn't thick enough to coat the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
These Candy Apples turned out beautiful, and the candy tastes wonderful! It takes a LOOOONNGG time to cook it to hard crack stage, but the result is well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I used this recipe to make HUNDREDS of candy apples for an event we were having and got so many compliments about how great they were! Everyone loved them and they were really easy to do..the worst part was just waiting for the candy to get up to temperature..and then cleaning out the pots afterwords!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TeenCookingLovey
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Great recipe like the fair. Though I did add a tbsp of vanilla, and alot of red dye and 1 tsp of cinammon candies. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeenCookingLovey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I did not get 15 apples like the recipe says, I only got 6, it was very messy but it was worth it for a special ocassion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I love this recipe it turned out great i added flavored extracts, different color dyes and also used kool aid to flavor the candy. Fantastic. One thing to keep in mind when making candy is the weather it turns out best when made on a sunny day with not much humidity. Elevation may also effect your candy. Also having a candy themometer is great cause temperatur can also be the difference betwwen hard candy and mush. Oh and remmeber to really wash your apples to remove all of the wax that store chains apply to them to make them look shiny as well as cleanse off the apples natural oils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hiresholmes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Not sure what happened but I cooked to recipe and the candy never hardened enough. Big mess :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I tried this recipe and loved it! I would suggest that you buy a candy thermometer (cheap at Walmart) because it does make a difference. I've tried to make these before and was unsucessful to say the least.... After using the thermometer I realized that I wasn't cooking the mix long enough. It takes 20 plus minutes to reach 300 to 310 degrees. They really do taste like apples you get at the fair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
My mom always told me that recipes like this should be made on a day when it is not raining. If the weather is humid or rainy, the candy coating will not set up properly. It is soft or tacky. This also goes for making peanut brittle or divinity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Adams Prince

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Candied Buddha's Hand Citron

See how to make a unique candied citrus treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States