Candied Apples II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Where I live, Candy Apples are $3 an apple at a farm stand. I love them - they are right up there in my top five favorite foods of all time. I was hoping that this would be a great candy apple recipe. I have made candy apples using kits but never before from "scratch". I am an experienced cook and thought that I would try it without the kit. I used a small pot and a candy thermometer. The recipe worked well in that it produced enough candy to fully cover 15 apples. The apples were shiny and hard and were beautiful to look at. However, the taste of the candy was lacking. The candy recipe as written is too BLAND. It was missing something. My family doesn't like cinnamon flavored candies so we skipped the red hots that some reviewers suggested. Reading other reviews, we tried different apples too. It didn't matter what kind of apple - we used Macs and Granny Smith - both apples had plenty of flavor on the inside of the candy. The candy just did not compliment the apple. I am not sure what I should have added to make it taste "right". I am giving it three stars because they were bright, shiny and beautiful. If the candy had more flavor, it would have gotten a higher rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenlawn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Very easy, I made 18 apples from this recipe, I kept the mixture in hot water while I was dipping the apples - it took a few hours for the sugar to harden but it turned out just perfect. I used chopsticks as sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Directions are very unclear. I have made candy before and it wasn't as unclear as this. I really don't think you should have this on med/high heat i think it should be lower. once it hit 200 degrees it instantly burns because the pot is too hot. This recipe needs to be more clear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I made this recipe more than once! Candy making is not forgiving a candy thermomorter a must! if you under do it is sticky if you over do it is rock hard. Try using this recipe with red hots (a bag) to flavor and color unstead of red die. makes the flavor good. also can add a little cherry extract. taste like the fairs. Let the candy thermomorter read about 260 than turn heat down to cook rest of the way. this receipe can burn in a half of second after hard crack ball stage. must watch. Also don't kid yourself candy making is dangerous I burned myself trying to save my expensive pan. Heat and water don't mix. I went into the hospital and had my baby that night with a burned scar on my hand. So don't do like myself and have a bunch of screaming kids at the table. the less distraction the better. Oh must have apples layed out on wax paper. use popsicle sticks unstead of the pricy apple sticks. spray wax paper with pam. after apple is dipped and dry use a cheap sandwich bag and tie off with red or green curling string. To remove excess wax peper off apples use a clean new wet rag. To clean pan pour excess syrup in some old crisco can or something you will throw away. soak your pan in dish liquid and water. Recipe is a keeper once you've mastered it. This receipe is not your every day and is very tricky but well worth it! so go ahead and charge like the fairs. or give away. Most likely will ruin a batch or two. but once you've found your magic stick with it! well good luck!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This recipe is wonderful! I think the negative reviewers are obviously unexperienced candy makers. This recipe clearly states what temperature to cook it too. Mine turned out wonderfully. The candy was nice and solid , we were able to bite through the candy coating, it wasn't sticky or gooey and we had a nice crunch. Absolutely delicious and well deserved five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Dobbs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Don't change a thing! After a few trials & errors I got it just right... I tried using Koolaid and my husband didn't like it. Also, if you work fast enough you can get all of the apples coated without putting the pan in boiling water - although I found it was only enough to coat 12 small mcintoshs. Using a thermometer is crucial as the one time I didn't have it hot enough and the candy didn't harden (sticky & messy), and the other time I cooked it too long and it had a burnt taste. One last note - as others have commented, once it gets boiling don't stir or it won't thicken. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
These are GREAT! So fun to make and simple to do too! I did have a slight problem though, I cut the recipe down to make only 4 apples, (just to see how they would turn out), but I only was able to get 2 whole apples and like 1/2 of another apple covered, and I used small apples, so I'm not sure how many apples the full recipe will yield. I can't wait to surprise my hubby with these when he gets home from work, (he has been begging me to try them). They look beautiful and I tasted a little off the 1/2 apple and it was sooooo good, just like I remember from a local bakery that used to be by my house. I will for sure be using this recipe over and over! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This was a exellent recipe it was easy and fun. The apples turn out great. I used the kool-aid (cherry) but only very little of it and it turn out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Excellent...made the recipe as is and the results were great only recommendation is don't use large pot to cook mixture in...the smaller the pot the easier it is to coat the apples!! Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I didn't have a thermometer so I just made sure to stay close to the pot. Once it started to thicken visually I tried dropping a little into a cup of cold water. I did this a few times a few minutes apart until it hardened in the water. DO NOT USE KOOLAID!!! I tried it despite somebody elses warnings. It was burnt tasting and cough syrupy. But when I tried it again without it it turned out GREAT. I used green food coloring with granny smith apples. Looked fantastic and tasted perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fuquay Varina, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States