Candied Apples II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I love candy apples, and this was a wonderful recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allora45
Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steff
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I just did a trial run with this recipe, my first time making candy, much leess candied apples. I added about a tsp of vanilla extract near the 250 degree mark to flavor, but may try a tablespoon of red hots next time (though they were great this way)! Things that worked: Must have a candy thermometer! It took me an hour to reach 300 degrees on high heat on my ceramic cooktop. Before that, it would make hard-ish strings when dropped in ice water, but at 300 it made fast, brittle, glassy swirly strings. I ate the strings. At 250, they were much too chewy. At 300, they were perfect. If your apples are too chewy, you may not have cooked long and hot enough. Do not stir after you initially blend the ingredients. I found that my temperature rose in spurts. That last stretch from 250 to 300 happened fast. The only stirring I did was to mix in vanilla and food color near the end. Use long, firm sticks. If too short, you might burn yourself. I used bamboo skewers in the BBQ section of my HEB; they were perfect and pretty. I made this in a 3 qt non-stick pot and used a silicone spatula. The silicone can take high heat. Early in the cooking process this stuff spattered tiny candy droplets everywhere. Next time I will use a spatter guard. The spatula cleaned up by flexing it to crack the cool candy off of it. The pan needed a long soak and sponging to melt the candy off in hot water. This stuff is boiling for a couple of minutes off the heat! Pour in a metal can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CALJAKE
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
this is a traditional candy apple (no cinnamon, THANK YOU!). Some tips: must use a candy thermometer...let mine get to 300 degrees and you need to work fast coating the apples. I also used red food paste while sugar was cooking (had no liquid food coloring). I used tiny cortlands (found at Trader Joe's). I bought them for the size, because the best-tasting apple to use is Granny Smith, but I went with size. I was able to coat 10 apples...used "pointed cookie pop sticks" found at A.C. Moore. I buttered a piece of parchment paper and put the paper onto the cookie sheet...apples hardened nicely and peeled off paper; then put them in cello bags with ribbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Ahhhhhh great so easy and fun! very tasty I did add some cinnomon and it gave a nice kick to it :) this is my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
They were as great as I hoped!! I did 1/2 red & half blue. Thanks for sharing!! Make sure to remove from hea before adding the food coloring or your syrup will burn. Learned the hard way. Also, adding a little marichino cherry juice to the mixture will give it a subtle but nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Great Recipe, so easy to make... Adults and kids loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abraham Yaksich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I recommend reading the reviews to help with tips and tricks, especially if you are not familiar with making candy. I followed the recipe and just left it clear to try it out. I prefer the red cinnamon flavor, so my next batch will be flavored. I was totally happy with the recipe the way it is written. The only tip I have was, cut some wedges so you can use up the leftover.. and when the temp gets up to about 270 degrees, turn the heat down cause it shoots up fast after that. Awesome candy apples!! No mess no fuss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashleylucas21
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I wish I had read more of the reviews before starting this - it took me much longer than I would have liked because I kept stirring instead of letting it boil straight for 20-30 mins. I added cinnamon and vanilla extract - and once everything was in order, they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleylucas21

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arnprior, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This is a great recipe, although you will not get anywhere near 15 apples..... maybe 6 large ones or 10 small. Stir it as little as possible, use a candy thermometer if you've got one, otherwise, keep a cup of water next to the stove to put a couple drops of the mixture in to see if you get those hard, brittle threads! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Great recipe strictly followed melted sugar temperature with candy thermometer, just completed dipping my first batch of apples. Turned out just like in the fair. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Candied Buddha's Hand Citron

See how to make a unique candied citrus treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States