Candied Apples II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This is a great recipe, although you will not get anywhere near 15 apples..... maybe 6 large ones or 10 small. Stir it as little as possible, use a candy thermometer if you've got one, otherwise, keep a cup of water next to the stove to put a couple drops of the mixture in to see if you get those hard, brittle threads! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Great recipe strictly followed melted sugar temperature with candy thermometer, just completed dipping my first batch of apples. Turned out just like in the fair. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I tried this recipe, and it failed miserably! My coating never got hard, and it just made a sticky mess! I will never make this again. I agree with other reviews that some of the steps are missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
The candy wasn't thick enough to coat the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
These Candy Apples turned out beautiful, and the candy tastes wonderful! It takes a LOOOONNGG time to cook it to hard crack stage, but the result is well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I used this recipe to make HUNDREDS of candy apples for an event we were having and got so many compliments about how great they were! Everyone loved them and they were really easy to do..the worst part was just waiting for the candy to get up to temperature..and then cleaning out the pots afterwords!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TeenCookingLovey
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Great recipe like the fair. Though I did add a tbsp of vanilla, and alot of red dye and 1 tsp of cinammon candies. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeenCookingLovey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I did not get 15 apples like the recipe says, I only got 6, it was very messy but it was worth it for a special ocassion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I love this recipe it turned out great i added flavored extracts, different color dyes and also used kool aid to flavor the candy. Fantastic. One thing to keep in mind when making candy is the weather it turns out best when made on a sunny day with not much humidity. Elevation may also effect your candy. Also having a candy themometer is great cause temperatur can also be the difference betwwen hard candy and mush. Oh and remmeber to really wash your apples to remove all of the wax that store chains apply to them to make them look shiny as well as cleanse off the apples natural oils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hiresholmes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Not sure what happened but I cooked to recipe and the candy never hardened enough. Big mess :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States