Candied Apples II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
If the recipe had included directions on cooking the sugar mixture, I would be able to enjoy the apples right now. It left out a very important step such as DON'T STIR THE MIXTURE AFTER IT BOILS OR IT WILL NEVER THICKEN!!! I found this crucial step in other recipes after waiting for the mixture to thicken. This recipe has potential to be good because it seems so easy, and it is, if it wasn't for the lousy lack of directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
395 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I tried this recipe today and it is AWESOME!! the apples wewe just like the ones at the fair .The recipe said it would coat 15 apples and it only did 9 but other that this i loves the recipe . It was fast and very easy . I can't wait to make them again !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Add about 1/2 pack (or more for your taste) of cherry Kool-Aid powder to the mixture to flavor. Other flavors of Kool-Aid would be yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
352 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
I tried this recipe for halloween to give out to the neighborhood kids that we know, and they didn't turn out as well as I hoped. I found that even when I got the candy to the right temp. it still was not thick enough. I ended up making a double batch and double coating, although this still did not make up for it. I think I will just keep searching for the perfect fair type candy apple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAIROTAIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
We thought these were terrible, I can't say much for the taste, because I was too busy prying the candy off my kids teeth. The candy was WAY too hard. I am certain I followed the recipe and it was easy to follow , but I wouldn't recommend it if you value your teeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
easy, simple, delicious thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I have search hard to find a candy apple recipe my kids and I would like and this is sure the one !! Simple and easy, coating is sweet and hard exactly like the fairs !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
turned out great! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
These apples taste just like the ones you get at a fair. I made them as a treat for my co-workers and they loved them. Just be sure you have enough time to wait for the sugar to reach the hard crack stage. i followed the advice of the person who said to put the pot in hot water when dipping and this kept the candy pliable for dipping as it does harden very quickly once removed from the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
very easy, and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States