Candied Apples I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
I just tried this recipie and I used the hard cinnamon candies which I found out wasn't a very good ideal. It made the apples a suggary color. Then I tried it using the cinammon oil and had much better results. Thanks so much for the tip about the oil. I just love candied apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
Looked and tasted just like the candy apples at the fair, but they were a little time consuming to make. The kids loved them at our annual hayride!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
Not bad but you must cook the syrup as stated or the candy won't be correct. The first time I tried it, it was great. The second time, terrible. You really need a candy thermometer for it to be the perfect candy apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEPSIW

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2001
The apples came out so hard we couldn't eat them! Also, don't use the cinnamon oil, it makes them bitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
These turned out great, just like the ones at the Fair. I followed the instructions exactly, made sure to put the apples in the freezer before i coated them and right after for about 10mins each time... Turned out great, everyone loved them! Thanks for sharing this Recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Great receipe! I added blue food coloring and the apples came out purple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I used a candy themometer, and cooked it to 305. It hardened like it was supposed too, but the flavor isn't like candy apples at the fair. I really don't like the flavor at all. I'll see what my kids think when they get home from school. Maybe I'll try it using red hot candies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
These came out beautifully. First of all, I added 1/4 of red hots and a touch of red candy coloring at the end of cooking. When you reach around 250 degrees, add your candies then take it up to around 300 degrees. Stir carefully when you take the pan off the stove and work quickly. My apples in the picture are green granny smiths and you can clearly see the candy coating covered them beautifully. I will use this recipe again and again. Thank You All Recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Did not like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I tried this recipe, turn out great. never used cinnamon disc turn out great love it, and will do again. Oct.02 2013
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Candied Buddha's Hand Citron

See how to make a unique candied citrus treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States