Candied Apples I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I tried this recipe, turn out great. never used cinnamon disc turn out great love it, and will do again. Oct.02 2013
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I looked at all 3 recipes and this was the only one that I could find all the ingredients. I also had to buy a candy thermometer as the temperature was pretty important. At first I started it in a double boiler but that was taking forever, so switched to a regular pan. Everything turned out great, but I would suggest using Red Delicious apples (not Gala like I used), as the color would have been better. This also made plenty of candy coating and would have covered at least 8 apples, though I only needed 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This recipe is fairly easy, and tastes good (but hard, as is typical for candy apples). The candy coating comes out shiny and bright red. A few things to change or pay attention to: 1) Use 1/4 cup of red hots and add at 250 degrees as another reviewer suggested, then bring it up to 300 degrees before dipping. 2) Stir as little as possible! 3) I used Granny Smith apples as the tartness balances the sweetness of the candy. 4) If you want your apples to be completely covered, increase the ingredients for the candy a bit, because it just isn't enough candy to completely cover the last apple easily. 5) It appears to be easier to bite into if you leave a little apple showing at the top. 6) Be sure to wipe all apples completely clean of moisture before dipping. 7) Dip them as fast as you can without spilling candy on yourself. (It hardens very, very fast!) 8) Put the candied apples in the fridge until the candy has cooled. Then, store in a cool place. 9) If wrapping in cellophane, be sure to wait a few hours after taking them out of the fridge, because they will be a little sticky for the first hour or two after removing from the fridge. 10) Cleaning your pan: fill the pan with water and put it on medium-high or high heat and stir occasionally. Once the water has melted all the candy, it is safe to pour down the drain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
These came out beautifully. First of all, I added 1/4 of red hots and a touch of red candy coloring at the end of cooking. When you reach around 250 degrees, add your candies then take it up to around 300 degrees. Stir carefully when you take the pan off the stove and work quickly. My apples in the picture are green granny smiths and you can clearly see the candy coating covered them beautifully. I will use this recipe again and again. Thank You All Recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Did not like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Great receipe! I added blue food coloring and the apples came out purple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
These turned out great, just like the ones at the Fair. I followed the instructions exactly, made sure to put the apples in the freezer before i coated them and right after for about 10mins each time... Turned out great, everyone loved them! Thanks for sharing this Recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I used a candy themometer, and cooked it to 305. It hardened like it was supposed too, but the flavor isn't like candy apples at the fair. I really don't like the flavor at all. I'll see what my kids think when they get home from school. Maybe I'll try it using red hot candies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
I just tried this recipie and I used the hard cinnamon candies which I found out wasn't a very good ideal. It made the apples a suggary color. Then I tried it using the cinammon oil and had much better results. Thanks so much for the tip about the oil. I just love candied apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
Not bad but you must cook the syrup as stated or the candy won't be correct. The first time I tried it, it was great. The second time, terrible. You really need a candy thermometer for it to be the perfect candy apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEPSIW

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States