Candied Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
i had the munchies and didnt have any regulard baking ingredients so i made these.... yowzzzaaa. these are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meat baby
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
These are pretty good. I followed the other reviewers advice and cooked the almonds in the sugar mixture until almost all the liquid was evaporated, but I could have cooked them a little less and been fine. If I make them again, I will wait to add the almonds until the syrup has reduced signficantly, as cooking the almonds in the syrup for that long gave them a slightly weird texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Easy and very simple to customize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is a wonderful candied nut recipe. I doubled the batch and dusted half of the almonds with powdered sugar at the end after they were separated. I got rave reviews on both but everyone leaned toward the powdered sugar coated ones saying they were a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Make sure you read the other reviews and let all the liquid evaporate. There is a fine line of when there is none and when there is.... you will know when to take them off. Also... make sure you use Roasted almonds... not blanched (Like I did). They tasted good, but were not crunchy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Took this one a little too far and burned everything when I followed a reviewer suggestion that this would take 30 minutes. Around 15 minutes in, as suggested in the recipe, the sugar crystallized but then it began to melt again before all the liquid was gone and everything went wrong right about the time I began to second guess myself. Otherwise, my house smells terrific. I will gather myself and try this again as a snack for my son's birthday party since the pan escapees from the point of crystallization are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I doubled the recipe, needed a big batch in a hurry and added 1 tsp of Cayenne for a bit of heat...worked very well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
The recipe works well the way it is, but here is an added twist to this recipe - I once cooked the almonds too long past they're dry and the sugar started melting and turned into hard caramel (I originally thought that they were not dry enough because the looked wet). I lifted the almonds, spread them out on parchment paper, and waited for them to dry up and harden. You must spread them while they are hot, otherwise they will clump together and there will be no way to separate them. Anyways, this surprising outcome was amazing - I started making hard caramel coated almonds and they went out in a snap. A problem with this is that the sugar started burning pretty quickly (then you get burnt caramel - not so good). So if you are going to try this, be careful, use low heat, and be patient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Very addicting!!! Made a few adjustments though... Used brown sugar instead of white and added nutmeg and ginger. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Excellent recipe! I added a little vanilla and honey to the mix...extra delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luckytruck6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

All about Almonds

Discover all you can do with healthy, delicious almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States