Candied Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Ok, so the first time i did this recipe i followed the directions and the amounts exactly and it turned out great! The second time i did it i wanted to make a big batch since i liked it so much and hand it out for the holidays. I quadrupled the recipe and it did NOT turn out. The sugar never crystallized. Anybody have any ideas on what happened?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
DELICIOUS and so easy to make. Told my sister and son about it and they quickly assembled the three ingredients and within a few minutes, they experienced the same wonderful aroma and taste that I did. My sister added a dash of cayenne in one of her batches and was happy with the results. I had purchased a very large bag of almonds from Costco and this made several batches to package, tie with a ribbon and give to friends for Thanksgiving and Christmas. My sister also made batches of Pecans using the same technique. So happy I have this recipe...a great recipe for a beginner trying to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I followed the recipe just as stated above but when finished I put the almonds in a bowl with 1/2cup brown sugar then covered and shook til all were coated... added an extra crispness to the candy coating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Perfect ingredients, but you have to KEEP COOKING it until all the liquid is gone. I made candied nuts years ago while working in a restaurant but forgot the ingredients, so I followed this recipe but continued to cook in the pan until they were done. No need to put on a pan and separate at all. Delicious to eat alone or add to a salad, especially one using fruit with lettuce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVE these! I did as suggested by a couple of others and made sure the liquid was gone and boy oh boy does it go quickly when it does! I also added a splash of vanilla and used brown sugar to get the molasses taste. Will do it this way again. I think I will be adding this to our Christmas gift giving. :) Thanks so much for sharing! This was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Milligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I hate this. Tried it twice. First batch came out sticky. Second time omg, they stuck to pan, house full of smoke, I was wanting these so bad.WILL NOT TRY AGAIN !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Chapman
Home Town: Darwen, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Reading the other reviews really helped me but also scared me at the same time. I read some that said the sugar burnt even with constant stirring. The main thing is to wait until all the liquid is gone and the sugar has crystallized. Constantly stir! Once you have reached the thick gooey syrup like consistency within minutes it crystallizes. It was my first time making these and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Fantastic simple recipe... My favorite version of this is to use almond slivers with none of the dark shell. I stir over high, then medium heat not only until all the liquid is dry but until it toasts the almonds with a golden brown color. THEN I serve these over a dollop of home made vanilla whipped cream on top of an almond creme brulee. Delicious crunch that really elevates a variety of desserts as a topping or garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Turned out fantastic. I also read all of the reviews and it helped with the "coating" process. I also added nutmeg and cloves, it made my kitchen smell like autumn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
These turned out great. I only made 1/4 recipe since I needed a handful for a salad. I took a shortcut on these to save time and to keep my house from getting too hot in summer. I toasted the nuts in a non stick pan (don't use non stick for full fledged candy making!) and meanwhile boiled the sugar and water in a glass measuring cup in the microwave for a few minutes until it got very thick and slightly yellow. I sprinkled cinnamon on the nuts in the pan, then poured the sugar mixture over the nuts. It only took 60-90 seconds for the nuts to get the white cruncy coating others described. Very simple for occasions you don't have prepackaged candied nuts onhand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

All about Almonds

Discover all you can do with healthy, delicious almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States