Candied Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
OMG! They taste just like the ones at the fair! I used Dry Roasted - Unsalted Almonds and Organic Sugar, both from Trader Joe's and Fresh&Easy ground cinnamon(it's what I had in the pantry). I'm glad I read the reviews to let the water evaporate. That's a great tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I used Splenda instead of sugar. Sometimes that works out fine, but is just so so in this case. I'm not sure if I cooked it long enough. I'll try again later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is a great recipe, very easy, just let all the liquid evaporate as instructed. Now, the comment on the Splenda version was mostly wrong. I say mostly because there is a trick to it. After boiling until all of the liquid is gone, spread on a cookie sheet with parchment paper and put in a 350 degree oven for 25 minutes. Its done. This dries the nuts out so that the coating can harden up. They are great. Not quite as good as the real sugar version but much healthier. Also, try the original recipe with pecans and put them over a good brownie with vanilla ice cream and chocolate/caramel syrup. The nuts add flavor and texture that really makes an outstanding desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Misty W
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I did it with walnuts and didn't cook it quite long enough but they were still pretty good! Today I used pecans, a tiny bit less water and sugar and cinnamon and added a pinch of ginger! Awesome! ( I was doubling the recipe and that's why I cut back a bit). Thanks for this easy wonderful recipe!! It is important to cook them till almost ALL liquid is gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
The best recipe for candied almonds. My only suggestions are to use either parchment paper or grease a pan it will be easier to break them apart. If you use wax paper put in the microwave to loosen from it. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Would have been delicious if I had not followed one user that said to cook for 30 mins. DO NOT DO THIS. It will burn them. Just cook until there is no liquid. If you cook too long it will get soupy and burn the almonds. Would have been delicious if not for burnt almonds. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
You cannot go wrong with these yummy treats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Reese Nagel
Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
So delicious! Follow the other reviews, cook until ALL water has evaporated! The recipe made me think I had to take it off sooner. I waited though and it became a thick syrup and when the almonds started clumping together, rather than settling right away into the pan like when it was soupy, I knew it was done. BIG HIT!! Very easy, will make again. I think I would roast the almonds next time, prior to putting them in the pot with the sugar. This would bring more flavor and a better crunch. Maybe I would even broil them for a minute or two after they have the sugar coating to provide extra crunch too. Either way, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This recipe is simple and easy but gets difficult when it gets to the end. Everything is well explained but once you get the the water being all gone if you don't get it out of the pan at the right time, good luck getting them out at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
After reading other reviews I was nervous about making sure ALL the liquid was gone...& in the process my candied almonds taste burnt. :( SO- make sure you lower the heat to med low AND get them out of the pan as soon as the liquid is absorbed- the almonds will be covered in a pasty, chunky 'gunk' (it's more delicious then it sounds!) w/ no 'liquid' in the pan but the gunk is still moist. The gunky coating is pretty thick so next time I'm going to use 3 cups of almonds & add cayenne to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

All about Almonds

Discover all you can do with healthy, delicious almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States