Candied Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This recipe is simple and easy but gets difficult when it gets to the end. Everything is well explained but once you get the the water being all gone if you don't get it out of the pan at the right time, good luck getting them out at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
After reading other reviews I was nervous about making sure ALL the liquid was gone...& in the process my candied almonds taste burnt. :( SO- make sure you lower the heat to med low AND get them out of the pan as soon as the liquid is absorbed- the almonds will be covered in a pasty, chunky 'gunk' (it's more delicious then it sounds!) w/ no 'liquid' in the pan but the gunk is still moist. The gunky coating is pretty thick so next time I'm going to use 3 cups of almonds & add cayenne to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I think this works better if you bring the sugar mixture to the soft ball stage BEFORE adding the nuts. It is difficult to keep the mixture from burning if the nuts are added too soon. I tried doing this both ways. On my stove using my candy thermometer it took about 8 minutes on medium high heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was surprisingly easy to make and I am *so* grateful for all of the readers' comments -- thanks for the tips, everybody! Yes, it is easy to get nervous near the end of the cooking stage, but definitely wait until the sauce *completely* evaporates in the pan and crystalizes onto the almonds. And that's when you know they're done! The sauce will transform from liquid to syrup to stringy to ready. Next time, I will follow someone else's tip to bake the almonds first (8min at 400) for that extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
These were amazing. The trick really is to keep stirring and waiting it out until the liquid evaporates. It really does work if done correctly. They were a hit at our Christmas parties. :) Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I was still stirring after an hour and now the almonds smell burnt. There is still liquid with the almonds. They now look like black, greasy jelly beans and smell terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Simply and good. For the people that gave it one star because they failed with Splenda; Don't rate a recipe if you didn't follow it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsBleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Just finished making these and they turned out perfect! So glad I read the reviews about making sure all the liquid is gone! So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Every other batch I make burns. And the last batch woouldn't even crystalize. The sugar got syrupy then it turned grainey, didnt stick to the alomonds very well at all. The burned batches will get to a thick syrup stage and will smell heavenly then suddenly it turns watery and burns. I dont get it! I have wasted like $60 worth of almonds to make this blasted thing for Christmas gifts and still have nothing to show. Im so pissed!! :-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These almonds are fantastic. I read the hints about cooking and stirring the liquid until it become dry. And that worked. Except I had a very few spots that still looked wet so I thought a little more time would work. Just the opposite happened. They became wet all over again and carmelized into a brittle mess. So, when 95% of the mix is dry just spoon it on the wax paper and it will be amazing. Hope that will help you make this wonderful Holiday gift idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

All about Almonds

Discover all you can do with healthy, delicious almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States