Candied Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was surprisingly easy to make and I am *so* grateful for all of the readers' comments -- thanks for the tips, everybody! Yes, it is easy to get nervous near the end of the cooking stage, but definitely wait until the sauce *completely* evaporates in the pan and crystalizes onto the almonds. And that's when you know they're done! The sauce will transform from liquid to syrup to stringy to ready. Next time, I will follow someone else's tip to bake the almonds first (8min at 400) for that extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
These were amazing. The trick really is to keep stirring and waiting it out until the liquid evaporates. It really does work if done correctly. They were a hit at our Christmas parties. :) Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I was still stirring after an hour and now the almonds smell burnt. There is still liquid with the almonds. They now look like black, greasy jelly beans and smell terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Simply and good. For the people that gave it one star because they failed with Splenda; Don't rate a recipe if you didn't follow it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsBleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Just finished making these and they turned out perfect! So glad I read the reviews about making sure all the liquid is gone! So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Every other batch I make burns. And the last batch woouldn't even crystalize. The sugar got syrupy then it turned grainey, didnt stick to the alomonds very well at all. The burned batches will get to a thick syrup stage and will smell heavenly then suddenly it turns watery and burns. I dont get it! I have wasted like $60 worth of almonds to make this blasted thing for Christmas gifts and still have nothing to show. Im so pissed!! :-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These almonds are fantastic. I read the hints about cooking and stirring the liquid until it become dry. And that worked. Except I had a very few spots that still looked wet so I thought a little more time would work. Just the opposite happened. They became wet all over again and carmelized into a brittle mess. So, when 95% of the mix is dry just spoon it on the wax paper and it will be amazing. Hope that will help you make this wonderful Holiday gift idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
SUCH a hit! Just like the ones you get at a fair or fall football game. The advice from all the reviews was crucial! I definitely thought I did it wrong when I was making it, but here are some things I learned: - use roasted nuts, rather than raw nuts. Raw nuts are good too, but roasted gives more crunch in your end product. - stir until all the liquid is gone. This means all the "goo" is gone. The sugar will begin to get REALLY hard to stir, then will become powdery again, and That's when the liquid is gone. - stir vigorously towards the end. It might take a while - don't make more than double the recipe at once. It becomes SO HARD to stir and will take forever to make. - add some other spices to it. I think I added cloves and pumpkin pie spice. Yum! - use a sifter and dust powdered sugar over the nuts when they are cooling on the cookie sheet. Gives a sweeter kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I added 1additional cup of almonds. For me that was plenty enough sugar to almond ratio. Soooo easy and one not too many people make it seems. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
So delicious! Best recipe I could find for candied nuts. I have used this recipe to make other nuts as well. Also brewed blueberry blacktea and used that for the 1/2 cup water, added a dash of vanilla and cut back the cinnamon to 1/2 TBSP - turned out yummy! Great to make before having people over to the house - really warms up the house with a delcious aroma. I also toasted my nuts in the oven as other people suggested. I like the nuts to be a little crunchy otherwise I found them to be too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

All about Almonds

Discover all you can do with healthy, delicious almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States