Candied Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Was thinking about the nuts at Disney and craving them. Ended up on this recipe via Google. I am SO glad I did. I had all the ingredients for two kinds of nuts in my pantry so I did almonds and peanut. Both turned out delicious. I'm thankful I read the reviews because I wasn't sure how dry to get them. I did what the recommendations in the comment sections stated and they turned out fantastic. I can't wait for my husband to get home because these are his favorite and I think I outdid Disney on these. :) Thank you for sharing this amazingly simple and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Seip- McLean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
So easy & very tasty. I just made these while I'm at home sick---I get bored very easily so I needed to keep myself busy.I kept the recipe just the way it is. Thank you very much DarlaJo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nothing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Terrible. Didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Wonderful! Next time I might add orange extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
These were delicious! I used 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and added 1/4 tbs of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I followed directions however this syrupy mess would not crystallize and filled my house with smoke and burn smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CC Adair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
First I tried making these without reading the reviews.... I ended up with a sticky syruppy mess..... I put the nuts back in the pan and kept cooking until literally all the liquid and stringy-ness is gone. They should look dry when they are done. It takes awhile.... but just keep stirring until they are dry. I am using these in a pear arugala sald with chedder, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Oh, bliss! I have an absolute thing about candied nuts so finding this recipe was the best surprise of the weekend! I found all the reviews really helpful. I would add this - you can tell when all the water is evaporated because the syrup starts getting gritty looking around the edge of the pan first, and then the syrup on the nuts suddenly stops looking all glossy and also starts looking gritty/crystallised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
OMG! They taste just like the ones at the fair! I used Dry Roasted - Unsalted Almonds and Organic Sugar, both from Trader Joe's and Fresh&Easy ground cinnamon(it's what I had in the pantry). I'm glad I read the reviews to let the water evaporate. That's a great tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I used Splenda instead of sugar. Sometimes that works out fine, but is just so so in this case. I'm not sure if I cooked it long enough. I'll try again later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

All about Almonds

Discover all you can do with healthy, delicious almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States