Candied Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I made this for a dinner party as a topper for a spring green/ gorganzola/ cranberry/ green apple salad and people were eating them straight out of the serving dish. My best friend asked me to make them for her birthday. The only thing I would recommend is cooking them until the syrup is VERY thick. I think I put them out to cool too early and they were a bit stickier than I would have liked. (I substituted walnuts for almonds, by the way). All in all, though, a great and EASY recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
These almonds turned out sticky. I was expecting a crispy almond. I wouldn't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
The trick to this recipe is to cook it until there is no liquid. If you get the sticky kind, that means you need to cook it longer. I have made this a many times and came out great!!! I made pecans and almonds to mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
For this to turn out, ALL the liquid must evaporate. the mizure turns from liquid to syrup to a stringy consistency, and then crystalizes onto the almonds. Be sure to stir consistently throughout... this process takes just under 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
403 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Dragée nuts are one of my favorite candies to make. This is a great method for hazelnuts and macadamias, too. I’ve used a recipe just like this, but with only half the cinnamon and using blanched almonds. Cook until the nuts are dry and covered with a bumpy whitish sugar coating. When they're cool, toss them with warm melted bittersweet chocolate and then into a bowl of unsweetened cocoa powder. They should have a hard sugar coating topped with a hint of chocolate and cocoa. (I wear latex gloves when working with chocolate; you can change gloves anytime your hands get chocolatey or sticky.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I chopped these up and served on a salad .... very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
served these for a bridal shower .. huge hit! for an extra zip i added 1/8 tsp chipotle pepper with the cinnamon .. just a slightest hint of hot aftertaste (could definitely use more if you like it hot)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Very simple, easy recipe that produces light, crispy, sugary candied almonds. I'm glad I read the other reviews explaining that the almonds must cook until the water is gone, that is the key to the almonds coming out crispy and not soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leesha79

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
these are really addicting. I'm not sure if I did it right, but I kept stirring until there was no more liquid. They turned out great, but they aren't glazed and shiney like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
OMG-Fantastic and SOOO easy! MAKE SURE that you read the other reviews-thats what saved me becasue I was ready to take them out when they were gooey. KEEP cooking in the pan until the goo is gone and they are nicely "chunky" with the sugar mixture. This was SO good and a huge hit! Great for office presents during the holidays or any occasion. Just add to a cute tine and you are good to go! Thanks other reviewers and thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Solimar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

All about Almonds

Discover all you can do with healthy, delicious almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States